We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous find in Ypres”
Review of La Porte Cochere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Porte Cochere
Ranked #2 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous find in Ypres”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at La Porte Cochère in October 2011 and we wish we could have stayed longer. It is conveniently situated a 5-10 minute walk from the train station and another 5 minutes or so from Menin Gate. The B&B is elegant and refined and more than exceeded our expectations. The entire house is beautifully decorated and the bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable.

The bathroom was incredible. It had a huge stand-up shower (hard to find in Europe!), a separate toilet area and the whole thing was very tastefully decorated. The only way to improve the bathroom facilities would be to provide shampoo and conditioner for guests and maybe a hairdryer. Make sure you bring your own as they don't provide these amenities at the moment.

The bed was spacious and comfortable and they even had complimentary bottles of water for each of us on the bedside tables. The breakfast was delicious, varied, and sizeable and we were able to enjoy some lovely classical music in the background while we ate. All in all this B&B has a very refined feel to it and we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abeille323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
89
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

First visited in November 2010 and could not fault the B&B. This time returned with two other couples and were warmly greeted by the owner Katrien. A welcome drink and nibbles on the patio! Excellent accomodation and superb breakfast. La Porte Cochere is only a few minutes from the town centre and a short walk to the Menin Gate.
Visiting ypres? Dont miss staying at La Porte Cochere!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon41_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

a proper posh place !! welcome drink from the owners Steven and Katrien , friendly people who have/make time for u ! close to the centre of town ! and the food is excellent !
if u r on a motorbike or pushbike (fiets) u will like the safe parking on the marble floor !!
have ur morning coffie in the garden and relax just the way u want it !!!
second visit for us and we will be back !!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBdeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

very nice B&B; the owners (= staff) are very friendly. The bathroom was nice, the room was spacious (although a luggage rack would be useful). The breakfast was really good. All considered: we enjoyed it a lot!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JvanWersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We thank those very kindly people for:
the hospitality, friendliness, beautiful house and cleaning chambers and bathrooms.
The breakfast was so good, we never forget.
This was for us a perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arno2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 km away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
799 reviews
0.5 km away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
410 reviews
0.4 km away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,374 reviews
4.4 km away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
213 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Porte Cochere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Porte Cochere

Property: La Porte Cochere
Address: Patersstraat 22, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Porte Cochere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing