We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & cosy with good food.”
Review of 't walpoortje

't walpoortje
Ranked #85 of 796 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$44
Description: ,Cosy, romantic restaurant in the city center of Bruges. Situated nearby the famous brewery " De Halve Maan ". We serve daily fresh products, local dishes, fish and meat dishes. Kitchen open from 12PM until 9PM. We re-opened this restaurant 4th of july 2015, it was wellknown for his good quality of food, especially the different kinds of beef and we are offering the same quality of food to oudr visitors ,serving home made French ( belgian) fries!!!!
Restaurant details
Description: ,Cosy, romantic restaurant in the city center of Bruges. Situated nearby the famous brewery " De Halve Maan ". We serve daily fresh products, local dishes, fish and meat dishes. Kitchen open from 12PM until 9PM. We re-opened this restaurant 4th of july 2015, it was wellknown for his good quality of food, especially the different kinds of beef and we are offering the same quality of food to oudr visitors ,serving home made French ( belgian) fries!!!!
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Lucky to visit this little restaurant, about 5 tables for 2, 2 for four & 1 for 6, at 12.30 with no booking & only one couple inside.Soon filled up within 30mins ! Came for lunch to enjoy chef's choice mussels at 22.50 euros with kilo of mussels in garlic, cream & tomatoes.Other good choices on menu including
dover sole, sea bass & Flemish stew.The mussels were very tasty but small, & definitely not near to the best we have ever tasted ( many times ) but very enjoyable with prompt, friendly service.Good for lunch but we would feel a bit cramped for a longer stay at dinner.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank njdb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2017

We were a cold and tired group of six. Stumbled across this place when our first two choices were closed. What a great find. Cozy and loved the sign on the wall that said something like ''there's no wifi, you'll just have to talk to each other.''
We had fish stew, fish and chips, salmon, salad and house wine. One waiter worked the whole room but service didn't suffer.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

I have had mussels in lots of places and the chefs special mussels here are up there with best! Friendly service and great food - what else do you need?!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Sunshine748291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Our first and definitely not our last visit. Friendly and efficient service with quality food. Compared to the restaurants in the Markt area this actually is very reasonably priced especially taking into account the quality of the food.

Comfortable surroundings in a relatively small restaurant- if you want a bustling place then go elsewhere - we don’t so will readily visit again.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank BMCT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Visited Bruges & had excellent meals both nights on our trip. Very helpful & obliging guy who looked after us both nights. Excellent food especially the apple pancake. Delicious!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 't walpoortje also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to 't walpoortje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing