We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lumina Domestica - The Lamp Museum
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting if you are interested in the history of lamps and lighting

Amazing displays from a private collection of lamps and lighting throughout the ages. Starts with... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2018
AntiqueFan
,
West Yorkshire, England
Deserves more love

In English they call this the ‘museum of lamps’ and whilst this is indeed what’s inside (thousands... read more

Reviewed 2 June 2018
Graham871387
,
Horsham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 62 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Bruges
from US$22.60
More Info
from US$8.10
More Info
from US$53.20
More Info
from US$23.10
More Info
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
10
28
12
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
28
12
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oil lamps choco story joint ticket collector collection evolved thousands centuries history chocolate explanation
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Amazing collection of lamps since the very beginning of light use by the humans. Unique exemplars are presented widely. It's quite and allows you to stare and explore every single piece of the exhibition. Worth visit. Up to an hour long.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Julia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

There are over 60,000 lamps in this museum and we went there for the sheer uniqueness of it. We enjoyed the videos done by the curator. I've never seen that many lamps in my life but it was neat to see a collection that large. We were literally the only people in the museum at the time and you do have to go through part of the chocolate museum to get to it.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank nats_niche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Complete history of lamps, preferred the start of the museum which was a bit more exciting. Did get a bit bored as we went through with only signboards to read. Would be better if a bit more interactive. That being said, it was a good price and very well laid out. Overall, preferred Choco Stort

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Marisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This museum tells a fairly complete history of light. Starting from forest fires, the first shells and shell-shaped clay lamps, the technical innovations in oil lamps and ultimately gas and other lamps are presented. There are plenty of exemplar lamps on display, maybe too many. Maybe the technical advances should be explained in movies rather than in text. And I think they could say a little more about the consequences of certain inventions. For example, I remember from the lamp museum in Liège that people had to get out of bed to keep the street lighting going, in medieval times. When longer-lasting lamps were made, this significantly helped people's lives. I missed that information here.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank RHAHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Very interesting. Really goes back to the origins of fire which is weird. The number of lamps is stunning and the wax figures are disturbing!!
Could do with more on electric lighting maybe but it is an interesting trip. Get a 3in1 ticket for best value.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank TheMrBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews