We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
209
237
77
17
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
237
77
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach park feed the ducks boat hotel unusual hotel canal side minute walk ducks swimming rooms are small minnewater park bread city centre open the window railway station hotel restaurant on foot explore bruges per day
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We booked one night at the De Barge Hotel just because it was a different type of place to stay. We arrived on a dark and rainy December night, guided in by our satnav, but had severe problems locating the barge and its moorings in the dark.

Once on board the welcome was warm and the barman mixed me a relaxing Campari and Soda, and didn't need to be prompted to add a slice of orange. Full marks.

The barge was renovated in the 1980s and its features are very nautical, as would be expected. The floors and walls, in public areas and cabins, are all wooden, and there are tarpaulins fitted against the ceilings. The sleeping areas are comfortable and cosy with en suite bathrooms and all toiletries supplied.

As the weather was so foul, and the canal is a little way from the city centre, we spoiled ourselves by staying on board for dinner. We began with an amuse-bouche of duck pate, which, even I as a person who doesn't usually eat pate, enjoyed. This was accompanied by some deliciously delicate lobster soup. My starter was a croquette of three cheeses, all of which complemented each other perfectly, and were wrapped in a beautifuly crunchy coating. We shared a lobster for our main course (and greedily accepted the waiter's offer of chips) and I plumped for a Dame Blanche for dessert. The local grainy bread helped us to enjoy the meal, which was washed down with a very reasonably priced bottle of Pouilly Fuisse.

The barge is much larger than our traditional English narrow boats, being about twice the width, and with an upstairs. Although it is moored, if you are lucky you might be able to see ducks swimming past, as we did during dinner. There is also free parking on the towpath alongside the boat.

If you're looking for a day or two in Bruges with a slight twist I would recommend De Barge Hotel. We were told that it's about a twenty minute walk to the main Market Square, but drove in to avoid getting even more wet.

Room tip: The entire location is peaceful
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandralawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

The excellent ratings you might see on booking.com or other pages MUST BE FAKE.
We've spent two nights on that boat and it was totally NOT WORTH the money.

1. Only two Parking spots available. First come, first serve.
2. Restaurant and bar closed on tuesday and wednesday. Coincidently the "Mayflower" Lightship next to the Hotel was open AND the food was too expensive for the poor quality. (5EUR for two small sandwiches)
3. Room is really, really small
4. TV did not work and can be a serious risk as it is not fixed properly to the sealing. (Was only tied to a belt)
5. Breakfast was a total joke. extremely small buffet for the expensive fee we paid. Breakfast was only from 8am-10am AND due to the fact that the breakfast area was so small, we had to wait for other couples to finish quickly their breakfast. The coffee was extremely bad (brown water with a horrible taste).
6. Waterpressure in the shower was also bad. If you have long hair be prepared to spent a lot of time to wash your hair.
7. The cleaning staff only tidied the bed without cleaning the floor.
8. No coffee / tea maker and no fridge in the room.

Summary:
Please check careful all the hotel recommendations if you plan a trip to Brügge.
We will definitely AVOID DE BARGE HOTEL next time.

Thanks.

Room tip: no recommendation possible.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank rkr142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Where to start… quirky, cozy, full of atmosphere, good location, EXYREMELY nice crew, brilliant breakfast… what more to say? Well, in our case De Barge was just a lucky shot right out in the dark. Spotted the pics, saw a few reviews, booked – and thoroughly enjoyed our four nights there. Of course, Bruges is a beautiful place, too, which might have contributed some to the very good memories we have, and hang on to. We arrived late due to bad weather at Frankfurt airport, and some hassle with the trains, too. The hotel communicated very nicely to ensure us that there will be someone to meet us, and if not, they sent us everything starting from the front door code. Excellent service, which went on in a very nice welcome at finally arriving. We had a fabulous meal at the hotel restaurant, one of the best during our stay in Bruges, and a very good night's sleep. I went out for an early jog next morning, and realised how close we were to central Bruges, a definite bonus. So, let me tell you some about the hotel. As the name suggests, it is really a barge, in the canal right south of the very centre. The rooms are small, but very cozy in their maritime setting. Lovely bed, cute bath, but the shower was, well, quirky might be an understatement. Working and functional, to some part, however. But fear no, De Barge will close early January for a full six week re-buidl of the piping, pumps etc, so by Valentines I would anticipate even the showers to work properly. The cleaning was excellent, as was the breakfast. When you book (N.B. I didn't say if…), keep in mind that the hotel doesn't run a 24/7 reception. So, I certainly do recommend De Barge for your Bruges visit. If you arrive by train (1.5 hrs approx from Brussels airport), don't bother taking a taxi, the walk is just some 300-400 yards, very easy to find: turn right at leaving the station, and keep right until you end up at De Barge. Have a lovely stay!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48stefana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

The stay is original and adds to the Bruges experience. Breakfast is phenomenal and the location is perfect. You're just outside of the Old Town so everything is by foot!

The room has a great layout eventhough its small. The morningview is terrific.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 152nickg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on our recent visit to the beautiful city of Bruges. To be honest the walls were paper thin and we could here every word being spoken in both adjoining rooms, and also all toilet and shower activity. The one saving grace was we couldn't fault the breakfast. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, these are a chargeable extra. The room we booked was supposedly a superior room, we would say it was very basic at best

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank waynec37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews