We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Canal view room was comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the owners recommended places to visit and to eat. Breakfast had fresh fruit and breads and eggs were offered cooked however we wished. Breakfast room was very pleasant with open fireplace. Hotel is a ten minute walk from centre of Bruges, buses stop by regularly to take you around Bruges or to the train station. Overall a very pleasant hotel and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a canal view room which was nice
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,998)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ter Duinen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

905 - 909 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed here on the 25th of Feb. for 1 night. On arrival the owner seemed in such a rush to get me checked in indeed never saw him again till the next morning.Was told breakfast started at 8.30 in the morning this seemed as if it was timed to suit the owners rather than the guests.
Was told the room I booked was at a special price so it would have to be paid in cash.( looks like he does not want the revenue to see all his business ?)
The room itself was so small just basic for 129 euros I have stayed in 5 stars for this price.
The bathroom walls were paper tin and you could hear your partner doing all their bodily function even brushing their hair and the door closed.
The pillows on the bed were small and rock hard very bad nights sleep from them.
There was no bar in the hotel just a counter and if you wanter a bottle of water even it came from behind a press.
Breakfast next morning was a shambles .Yes we got some grapes and pineapple but they were portioned controlled 4 or 5 grapes and a few pieces of pineapple on a small plate each.
We asked for a fried egg and were told only option was boiled egg.
The lady owner came to talk to us she seemed very pleasant and seemed interested in talking time to talk to us.
Our total bill for our stay was 149 Euro with car parking so I handed over 150 euro but got no change from the owner which I felt was not forgotten about just another slip of his hand.
Have stayed in hotels all around the world at every price scale and have to say this is the worst because of the owners manner.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelterduinen, Owner at Hotel Ter Duinen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review.
We feel sorry to read that you did not enjoy your short stay so much.
Which is a pity because we always try to do our very best for our clients.
.
When you arrived in the early evening we knew that you had driven all day long all the way from Marseille to Brugge (about 1075km !) and we knew you were going to be tired.
Your car was parked on the wrong spot just outside the hotel and as the police is very severe
and quick in giving tickets (it’s as they are waiting round the corner) we thought the best we could do is not to load you up with all the information we normally
give but to show you the way to the room as quickly as possible.
Especially because your partner had arrived long before you and was already waiting for you in the room a greater part of the day.
Upon arrival she had been provided with a map of the town, she had received all the information needed and we were convinced that she was going to pass it on to you.

Being a 3 star hotel the reception is not always manned but as we live here ourselves we are always around and at your disposal from let’s say around 08.00am till we close in the evening.
And even afterwards you can still reach us (even in the middle of the night) by telephone.
There is a hotelbell on the reception and upon arrival we have explained that you can ring this bell in case you need anything at all.

We don’t understand that you call our breakfast a shambles. Most guests regard our breakfast as a delight with lots of variety of breads, drinks, cerials, home made jams, meats and cheeses and esp. lots of fruits. It astonishes us that you claim there was no fruit : we always start with a small tray of fresh fruits (every day different selection) and a fresh (!) orange juice (squeezed only moments before) brought to the table.
Apart from that, that day on the buffet there was still passionfruit, fruitsalad (not out of a plastic box – freshly made every day by us) , a bowl of fresh fruit with kiwi, apple, banana,
orange and a nice selection of dried fruits and nuts.
We have no cooked breakfast but we offer a boiled egg which is boiled at the moment you ask it and how you like it best.

We have a nice sitting area/lounge in the conservatory where there is no obligation to drink anything at all. It’s just an area to relax and to enjoy but of course it’s always possible to enjoy a drink there. Also there you can ring the hotelbell.
We only work with bottled water and it does not come out of a kind of press but out of the refrigerator which is behind the counter.

We’ve done a lot of work in our hotel to avoid noise from the outside and from other rooms.
We haven’t done anything special against the noise that the clients make themselves inside the room they are staying in.

That we have forgotten to give you back the one euro we don’t remember and if we did we apologise for that.. But this cannot have been on purpose !.
We even feel offended when you write “another slip of his hands”.
This is certainly not the way we are and the way we work.

Twenty-nine years ago we started our hotel and since then we are here every day to provide our guests a pleasant stay and to let them leave with good memories of their stay in Bruges .
And although we have tried to do our very best we find it a real pity to find out that you have left our hotel unhappily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed one night, Thursday 16th February 2012. Bus stop right outside hotel and took 10mins from bus station, No 14 bus.

Arrived early morning and found room had been made up and was given wealth of info on geting around Bruges.

Huge room overlooking canal, very nice.

Hotel was clean, staff very friendly and centre only 10min walk from main square.

Breakfast was beautiful, all fresh produce.

Will return asap.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was our second visit to Bruges and our first visit to Ter Duinen. We have rarely encountered a more helpful approachable welcoming hotel. Just far enough off the beaten track yet still conveniently located with a bus stop right outside for those who are not able or prefer not to walk. The stroll into the centre is still only 10 minutes though and does provide an opportunity to soak up the atmosphere of this gem of a small city.
The rooms are cosy well equipped and spotless. We were on floor two overlooking the canal that runs alongside the road. The rooms have a double glazed option if you wish to shut out the limited sound of the traffic but quite frankly we preferred to leave the window open a touch just to hear the 'sound of Bruges' dominated by the church bells.
Breakfast is buffet with an 'egg option' and ideal.
We would definitely recommend and return here on our next Bruges trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dja40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We are just back from a 4 night stay at this lovely little hotel. We could have stayed at the larger hotels in town but would have missed some pretty views and ambience of Bruges as we walked the 10 mins into the centre. We had room 23, it was small but very clean with a good shower and bath and had two full length windows, overlooking the canal. The bus stop was close by and I would suggest if you arrive by train to get either bus 4 or 14 as they stop by the hotel and save 10e on a taxi. Breakfast was fresh meats, cheese, fruits, toast and egg in a very relaxed breakfast room. We had very good food in Bruges and would recommend Quatre Mains just off the main square for lunch as everything is freshly made and The Park Restaurant for a special occasion. We enjoyed our stay at the Ter Duinen the staff we very thoughtful and always extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Room 23 was lovely if small.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
1.1 km away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
1.2 km away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
743 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: €150 - €207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffet breakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing