We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb authentic food and service”
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Ranked #10 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb authentic food and service”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

So good we went back a 2nd time for valentines night.
Both times having the set meal (choose any mains from the menu). Everything was perfect, well cooked and presented. Friendly but not over attentive service in a great atmoshere. We couldn't fault anything.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 750nig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,596
    386
    90
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant, friendly staff, great food.”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We visited this restaurant after reading good reviews on trip advisor, it was a fab choice. We had the set menu with the mixed starters, it was a huge selection of food and was all perfectly cooked. Myself and my husband really enjoyed them, the mains were equally as good. My husband especially enjoyed the huge calamari.
The family that run the restaurant were extremely friendly, the restaurant had nice relaxing tranquil decor and you could pay by card!! Would definitely recommend, a lovely meal.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Emstabiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent food in decent setting.”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Went to the olive tree on 25/1/12 based on other reviews and wasn't disappointed. Due to the time of season it was quiet so did not book. Nicely decorated inside. Had the €39 per person menu which was an appetiser, starter platter (delicious) and choice of main course, we opted for moussaka..finished with a dessert and coffee..the menu has a variety of meat and fish. It's not cheap but then we discovered Bruges is expensive wherever you choose to eat! If you like Greek food, you'll like the olive tree!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pambo_erica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
802 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good Greek restaurant”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The night we went it was extremely quiet - in fact, just one other customer, who left while we were eating. This was because it was a Thursday night in January and I'm sure the place is really busy in the summer. Very decent Greek food, a decent house wine, and very friendly service from the Greek waiter, who chatted to us when we felt like it but - unlike some restaurants - didn't come and crowd us just because we were the only customers.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food And Friendly Service”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I went here last night and was not disappointed, it is a family run restaurant and the food was sublime. We had some fried aubergines in honey for starter that I can't do justice to how good they were. The guy serving us was absolutely lovely, very attentive and very knowledgeable. This was an odd choice for us as Greek food is not something we'd usually eat but I'd recommend it to anyone and would definitely go back if I was in Bruges again,

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sqwookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing