We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
35
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
0
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016

This is our third time staying at a B&B and we tend to instead stay at Gites/cottages/apartments for the increased privacy, but this was certainly one of our most pleasurable stays. We had a humongous top floor "bedroom", i say "bedroom" as it was much more like a suite only lacking a kitchen/ette. It felt completely separate from the rest of the house and so had an apartment feel to it.

There was limited English channels on the television which is a slight letdown, but still it was nice to see some English TV. The bed was also a little hard for our liking, we're used to sleeping on memory foam and so it is rare to come across a bed which fits our exacting requirements.

Other than this I have nothing to say but praise for the property. The location is great (5 -10minutes drive from Ghent), with only minor noise from the odd car which is travelling to one of the neighbours houses. The breakfast is fantastic, breads, meat, cheese, cake, cereal, yogurt, homemade jam (banana and rhubarb was oddly delicious), and fresh apple juice from the apples grown in the garden.

Anne was a terrific host - Very friendly but not overbearing. We only met Bruno in passing (I believe he was going to work, and he wasn't home until late the night before when we arrived) however he had a friendly demeanour.

Whilst during our stay it wasn't overly hot, we noticed there was a 4 way ceiling AC unit, which I'm certain would be superb on hotter days.

I really struggle to find anything bad to say and I'm sure there are positives I have missed. We really hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CharlieN585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

If you are looking for an excellent place to stay near the business centres of south Ghent or to discover the splendour of the Flemish cities all within an hour's drive, this is the place. Great hosts, great breakfast, great room and great location.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne V, Owner at B&B Au Grenier, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Many thanks for your very kind words! Always welcome in Ghent and my B&B. Kind regars, Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Just spent 3 days here in the suite. Anne and Bruno are great hosts and catered for our every need from the moment we arrived. The suite is modern sleeping up to four people with a gallery bedroom. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker , espresso, washing machine, oven and hob. TV, DVD (a range of DVD's) Hifi and free wifi.Sun and fly screens. Fridge stocked with a range of drinks, alcohol and soft which is extra. Lovely heated outdoor swimming pool. If cover is on all you have to do is ask. Breakfast more than adequate. Some homemade, lovely fresh eggs from their chickens. Nice touches included some complimentary homemade cakes, pastries. Very welcoming and so relaxing to sit on the small balcony with a glass of wine. There is a regular bus service (No.70) with the bus stop about 300m away. Takes you to Ghent. We got off at St. Pieters Station and caught the tram (No.1.) into centre of city. There are restaurants a short driving distance away at St Denijs Westrem and ample shopping at Carrefour and Aldi. A really pleasant place to stay and would recommend this to anyone wanting to be pampered but also have your own quiet time. We will definitely visit again even if just to say hello. You are made to feel so welcome by such nice hosts.

Room Tip: Self contained suite has its own entrance. Photos on their website say it all.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne V, Owner at B&B Au Grenier, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely words!! It was my pleasure to have had you as my guests. Always welcome and the coffee/tea and the cookies will be waiting. Fonds regards, Anne, B&B Au Grenier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

The room is on the second floor of a lovely modern house on the outskirts of Ghent. The large guest room is equipped with every convenience (homemade biscuits, sofa, TV, DVDs) that you probably will not want to leave. However its worth going to breakfast as nothing is too much trouble for the host, Ann. It is possible to walk to local restaurants but a car is probably best.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pugwash26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

This is probably one of the best B&B I' ve ever stayed in!!!
The owners were so pleasant,friendly,inviting and helpful!!!
The room was very very clean,elegant and luxurious!!!
The breakfast was delightful!!!
We will definately be back again!!!
Thank you for all Anne and Bruno!!!
Best regards from Greece!!!⛵

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Tzoik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews