We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
11
53
48
32
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
53
48
32
18
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017

On arrival this Van der Valk looks a bit "tired" but in fact the rooms are better than the corridor!!
The staff were very helpful and although we didn't have the opportunity to eat in the restaurant the menu looked good, it was easy to find and had free parking so well worth giving a try

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank moirah31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

On arrival we were given a room that had a strong smell of smoke in it; as I am an asthmatic we had to ask for another room; I explained that we did not request a smoker's room and so we should be given the option to change. This was agreed but the room we were moved to was actually disgusting. It had not been cleaned: the bathroom was filthy and the floor had not been vacuumed at all. When we opened the fridge door the most horrific smell of cheese emerged and filled the entire room; we immediately asked the man at the reception desk to come down to the room; he agreed that the smell was disgusting and that the room had not been cleaned. He removed the cheese from the fridge which he assumed by looking at it that it had been there a few days. At this point he suggested a refund and another hotel but as we were exhausted from a whole day's travel we asked if we could have some cleaning products so we could clean the room ourselves and stay there. I think this may have caused him embarrassment because at this point he did offer us the very nice room we did eventually stay in. I think it was in the process of being refurbished and although the carpet hadn't been vacuumed, the bed was clean as was the bathroom so it was fine for us for one night.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B5396VNluciam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Located outside of Ghent, it is great value for money, especially during holiday season.
Staff were really friendly. We had dinner once during our stay and the food was really good with nice veggie options.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 630arvinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

This rating is only aboiut the restaurant.
Went there for a business lunch. The restaurant on 1st floor leaves a solid impression, real linen on the tables, etc..., albeit a little outdated furniture and style. Service was very friendly and efficient. A lot of people moving around in the place, which gives a "brasserie like" feeling with the waiters and waitresses in black and white outfits.
But we had a lot of room between the tables, could discuss comfortably and had a very decent dish (a few classics of French/Belgian cuisine...). We topped it of with a good italian wine. Reasonably priced.
I think this place is really geared towards business people, and apparently they do have seminar rooms etc..
If I need to find a place to eat in the area, I will keep this one in mind for sure.

I did not try nor see the hotel. But the overall complex seems quite important and needs a solid paintbrush (and probably much lore) to refresh the whole place.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Luc305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Located close to the highway.
Time for renovation of the guest rooms.
Terrible smell of cigarettes in a non smoking guest room.
No staff available at the front desk. You have to look for them in the bar or in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnG7946ZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews