We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good experience”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Easy decision as it is easy to get to from the city close by.
Very helpful staff and all of course fluent in English as I don't speak Flemish.
Rooms surprisingly large, very clean, selection of soft and hard pillows and free access to internet for email etc.
Price was €99.00 that included an excellent breakfast.
All together a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    185
    125
    25
    5
See reviews for
133
77
12
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Unless you speak Dutch, a trip to this part of Belgium is a bit daunting, but at least almost everyone speaks very good English!

The hotel and staff are pleasant but as it doubles as a meeting venue it can get very busy indeed. Rooms are big and clean and the bed was very comfy. Little niggles would be that there are no biscuits or even UHT milk - just whitener. Also, the 9 Euro parking charge was a bit cheeky on top of the already fairly steep cost for a hotel like this.

These in combination are the only reason I've marked it down a bit, as like I say there were no major complaints. Worth looking around to see if you can get more value for money, though considering my basic return flight from Edinburgh was an extortionate £450, maybe just a very dear place to go...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rednap36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. At this time, the coffee/tea tray includes regular coffee, decaf, breakfast tea, whitener, sugar and sweetener. These amenities are standardized throughout the Holiday Inn Express Brand.
However, if you'd like anything else, e.g. fresh milk, cream, biscuits or even different types of tea or sugar, just give our friendly reception team a call. They will immediately bring some to your room, so that you can enjoy a cup of coffee in your room just the way you like it.

Sincerely
Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays, Essex, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel last week (2nd Dec). Had a slight problem finding the hotel entrance once we'd got through the car park barrier as it wasn't obvious where the entrance to the hotel was especially in the dark and rain. But the receptionist was friendly, welcoming and efficient and allocated our party of four rooms close together. The bedrooms were enormous, more like a suite with all the usual HI facilities, choice of pillows and coffee/tea facilities. We felt the standard of this HI Express hotel was more like the more expensive Holiday Inn. It also had a restaurant which the HI Express doesn't seem to have in the UK. The restaurant food was excellent and not too expensive for a hotel. A nice touch as a priority club member was the free drinks in the restaurant and bar. Breakfast was very good, leisurely experience with plenty of choice and tables were cleared quickly. In the UK breakfast can be a "bun fight" where the food is not replenished, tables aren't cleared and you are made to feel rushed to leave. We chose this hotel to be close to Brugge and Brussels although the day we went to Brussels, there was a public transport strike - no buses or metro. We parked at the Atonium and luckily got a tram into the centre. We went to the Christmas market and the light show in Grand Place - both were fantastic and well worth a visit. One annoyance was the 9 euros parking charge per night and the extra "tourist tax" charge, considering the hotel is more than 4 miles outside the centre of Ghent, it is a bit of a cheek, although I suspect these charges are probably common throughout Belgium. That said, we can't fault this hotel, everyone spoke good english, were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient and made our stay thoroughly enjoyable, thank you. We highly recommend this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your positive comments on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Gent.
I agree that the signage on the parking was not very efficient. I write 'was' and not 'is', because the new reflective parking signs we had ordered were actually installed this morning. So from now on, whether it's dark, rainy of foggy...just follow the signs and you'll get there :-)
Regarding your PriorityClub advantages in our hotel: to add even more value to your stay, you will also get a weekday newspaper, and unlimited use of High-Speed Wi-Fi in the hotel. So next time you check in, just show us your card and start being rewarded for choosing Holiday Inn Express.

Best regards
Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Room was of a good standard and excellent size. The staff had left a cuddly toy in the cot for our baby which was a nice touch. Excellent value for money for the room (not so great at the bar/food!)

Breakfast included in price and offered a good selection of items.

Bus stop outside hotel which takes you into Ghent which was great as you could then leave the car at the hotel.

Moved onto Crowne Plaza into Antwerp which should have been better but in actual fact was not as good as this hotel. If I return in the future, I would probably base myself from this hotel rather than Antwerp.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0bn0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your thoughtful comments. Here at the Holiday Inn Express Gent, we're parents too, so families with kids are very important to us.
Next to a complimentary baby cot in your family room (with a cuddly toy and some sweets), we've also got fairy tale books, toddler toys, high chairs and a baby bath at your disposal. Oh, and also bottle warmer, a microwave and crayons and colouring books to keep them busy for a while.
Just in case you'd run out of any important baby items, we know where to find a pharmacy 24/7 too.

Best regards, Laurens Roels, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Bit awkward finding the entrance, well was for us but easy to get to and you are greeted with a lovely smell...which funnily does make a difference when you are tired and just want somewhere nice to relax.

Went to our room and was MASSIVE....lovely big size and in the travel cot they had left 2 toys for the baby to play with. a very nice sweet touch actually. One of the nicest HIE i stayed in. breakfast was the usual. And they had soya milk when i asked and had no problems giving it.

Pleasent expereice

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faiza333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Ms Faisa,
We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
At Holiday Inn Express, we understand that busy families need relaxing getaways to reconnect and have fun. That's why kids kids age 19 and under stay for free when sharing their parents’ room. So whether you choose Holiday Inn Express as a stop along the way or as your ultimate destination, you’ll enjoy a family friendly atmosphere at a family friendly rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
3.9 km away
Novotel Gent Centrum
3.7 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#16 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
3.3 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gent
Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St-Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. Tram 4 and Bus 8 stop at walking distance and will bring you anywhere in the city at regular intervals. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms. This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing