We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
6
86
78
29
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
86
78
29
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2014

Originally chose this hotel because it was a convenient first stop over for our European tour and has a big car park that is free. Our room overlooked the River Meuse which was nicely lit up at night. The room was a bit dated but, spacious and comfortable, very functional. The continental breakfast was good. This hotel is well run and has a relaxed atmosphere. We stayed on a Monday and found it quiet. Overall, a good start to our trip. Location is good and easy to find by car. More of a business hotel really but acceptable the family as a sleep over stop. Just a short walk into the restaurant district where you can find fine food and lovely beer.

Room tip: Plenty of free car parking directly outside the hotel.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lordlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

We were on a Leger battlefield trip (battle of the bulge) and stayed at the Alliance for 4 nights.
we were on the 3rd Floor (rear) and although we did experience some loud traffic noise, all in all it was not too bad. The room was a little tired, but acceptable for the duration. Breakfast was also a bit of a 'bun fight' but nevertheless, also perfectly acceptable for 4 days.The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the city center, but if you were inclined (as we were) we ate in the bar. The food was OK and reasonably priced. They also have a 'happy hour' between 18.00 - 19.00 hrs, so most drinks were half price! The bar tariff was also reasonable. Don't believe the comment i read that a pint is £8.00- not the case at all.
Would I go back? - yep, for a max of 3-4 days stay.

Room tip: Try to get a room facing the river! (and higher up than the 3rd floor.)
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stuartsmith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We were lucky to stay here for a weekend social function at a discounted rate in a very nice room on the 5th floor with a small balcony overlooking the River Meuse. I am unsure of the room classification but it was certainly spacious, featuring two beds (large singles / small doubles), two armchairs, table, sideboard, TV and an en suite with a bath. Spare power sockets in the room were very limited. There was a standalone air conditioning unit in each room with a chiller unit on the balcony, but it looked antiquated and we opted to leave the balcony door ajar at night.

The Alliance is a large hotel adjacent to the Palais des Congres, situated within an easy 15-20 minutes walk of the historic city centre. Free car parking is available on the large concourse right outside, although it filled-up quickly. There also appeared to be an underground car park beneath the concourse. The decor and furnishings throughout the hotel were dated, but everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfast room was adequate for the number of people staying during our weekend but perhaps it is a squeeze during business conferences. Breakfast was included in our room price and it was a pleasure to have a respectable cooked option (bacon, scrambled egg and sausages, Belgian style) as well as all the usual continental choices. There is a good sized bar and an airy reception lounge area. We found the free Wifi signal reliable throughout the hotel. We did not try them but the hotel also has limited fitness, sauna and swimming facilities.

It was a little noisy at night with the sound of late-night revellers reverberating around the concourse in front of the hotel. On the other hand our room aspect was devoid of road traffic noise and the view of péniche barges navigating the river was charming.

Considering that we enjoyed a discounted room rate I absolutely cannot fault the quality and value for money received. If were I paying a standard tourist rate, I might be pedantic and reduce my rating on account of the aforementioned tiredness, but this is still a very comfortable hotel.

Room tip: Rooms with a great river view also receive full sun during the day and can be a little noisy at night. Your choice!
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Microtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Rooms a decent size; uninspired 'business' hotel devoid of any charm. Breakfast was average but only one coffee maker 9 automatic) for entire breakfast crowd- thus lineups.
Free WiFi but was barely accessible in my room; cut out continually and I heard the same complaint from others.
Very old TV.
Rooms need updating; hard to find plugs for computer, chargers etc.

Room tip: one side has view of the river
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank feverman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Not a very good hotel. I would not recommend it. I think it is three star quality. Staff was friendly but some didn't speak very good English. TV didn't work in the room. I was told to wait until the next day. Not too big of a deal but let's face it. Stuff like a working tv is pretty basic. Toilet wasn't even connected to the floor properly. It rocked side to side. That is a mess waiting to happen.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Xing30West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews