We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a short stay relatively close to Grand Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
Ranked #42 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Timisoara
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK for a short stay relatively close to Grand Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

The good things about this hotel are the fact that is well situated (around 10 min walk from Grand Place) the room and bathroom were clean, you have a free of charge coffee and tea machine in the lobby. Generally, if you are not too picky it was ok.

The not so good things were that .... i had a problem with my shower and it took one day and a half to have it fixed (even though I have complained about it 1 h after my check in), breakfast is really a pity especially if you are vegetarian (the only option was bread and butter and one type of cheese or milk and cereal or fruits, there were no vegetables..), the challenge of entering the sliding doors at the entrance..

I would recommend the hotel for a short stay in Brussels if you want to be close to Grand Place and you don't mind the small inconveniences.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeliaTimisoara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    291
    93
    28
    14
See reviews for
142
210
29
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights for a weekend with 3 friends.
When we arrived we thought it was quite strange that the slide doors of the entrance did not open, we had to ring to enter and it was during daytime not after midnight, so it didn't felt very welcoming. The lobby has a small lounge area with tv, 1 mac computer and a free coffee/soup machine which has a lot of choices, which we thought was really nice.

The check-in was quick, the receptionist friendly and we got apartment # 1502 viewing the courtyard.
The apartment is outdated, carpets a bit dirty but we didn't mind because the price we paid was quite cheap. In the apartment we had a small tv, radio, well equiped kitchen(microwave,dishwasher,big fridge,water boiler), seperate toilet and bathroom although the toilet was quite small. The beds were good.
For wifi you have to get the code at the reception, the internet is fast enough and for free.

The location is very good in the centre of brussels but at quiet square.
So overall a we had a good stay but we had an outdated apartment which obviously didnt looked very clean, they are having renovations now so when it's done it will be a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmanuel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schietecatb, General Manager at Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor.

About the entrance door, we keep it closed at any time for our residents' safety. The door can be easily open with the key of the room or while belling and our receptionists are present to open the door, as in your case.

Then, we are aware that the general condition of the apartment was not up to our usual high standards and we are also pleased to advise that the property is now under renovations, which should address most of the other issues you have raised in your feedback.

Your feedback inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that guests have come to expect and i thank you for your valued patronage.

G. Marginet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

stayed at the hotel 5 nights, 18/08/11.-23/08/11.hotel location is fantastic, in a quiet square in St catherine,room i was given was at the back of hotel overlooking a lovely courtyard with a nice water feature,room was large,very old fashioned,clean and well equiped, bed was ok , slept ok.bathroom was fine,you have to clean your own room which i though was ok and you had to change your own towels which i though was also ok.

staff in hotel were great, very helpful and always had a smile and a greeting when entering and leaving the hotel.the young guy on days think his name was stephen is a credit to this hotel,really helpful,(thanks for printing airline ticket).

wasent that impresssed with Brussels, found it the most expensive place i have stayed in.the amount of people begging in the streets with their children is not on,(maybe the police should be doing their job and arresting these people instead of escorting politicians).

would go back to this hotel

Room Tip: ask for quiet room, road works outside hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daft-duck50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We choose this residence because it is very well situated on the nice place "Sainte Catherine", not far from the old centre and very convenient for the metro (nearest station two minutes far from the Citadines!. Apart from this, the staff was very unpleasant : neither friendly, nor polite. The room was old, the carpet really need to be changed (and there should not be carpets in a place where people eat and drink!). The beds were uncomfortable and the bed situated under the other not convenient to draw at all, the sheets were old.
In a word, everything should be changed in this place and we shall not return if we decide to visit Brussels a second time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schietecatb, General Manager at Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Hello,

It was a great pleasure having you stay at Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels and I thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience with us.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve.

I have well noted your comments about our staff which did not meet your expectations in term of welcome and service. Please be assured that I will coordinate the plans for these enhancements with the respective team members.

I am pleased to share with you that our property is now under renovations, which should address most of the issues you have brought to our attention.

We hope we will be able to welcome you soon, giving us another opportunity to serve you again.

G. Marginet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

The rooms at this hotel are presented as an apartment but i have to say that is a very small apartment, old style, they don't have cleaning in rooms so you have to clean everything after you, and they don't even take the garbage from the room. Our room was the worst in the whole hotel, in the night noisy, we could hear other people screaming, laughing, talking and during 5 days as we stayed here, in the living/ kitchen there was always a strange smell like old garbage or old sea fruits.
Another thing is that you can hear from your room every noise from other rooms and we had every day problems with the card from our room so we couldn't enter and we had to go to reception everytime.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cossmyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schietecatb, General Manager at Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Hola!

Thank you for your feedback shared on TripAdvisor.

We regret to read that you were not satisfied during your recent stay with us and I thank you for giving us the opportunity to address your concerns.

About the unit that you booked, please note that we have two different types: studios (25 Sq.M) and apartments (40/45 Sq.M) and you did the choice to book a studio which is smaller than an apartment.

Then, I am sorry to learn that the general condition of your studio was not up to our usual high standards. We are also pleased to advise that this property is actually under renovations, which should address most of the other issues you have raised in your feedback..

Be assured that we will continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and products to our guests.

G. Marginet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.5 km away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
0.1 km away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#62 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.1 km away
Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
#8 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Noga Brussels
Hotel Noga Brussels
#65 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#72 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.3 km away
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels

Property: Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
Address: 51, quai au Bois a Bruler, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of Old Brussels, your serviced apartments hotel opens its doors to you in the city centre, in the busy Sainte Catherine district with its wide array of restaurants and shops. With its peaceful enclosed garden decorated with a fountain, your serviced apartments hotel promises you quiet and comfort. Our reception desk is open 24/7. The Sainte-Catherine metro runs right past the Apart Hotel and will take you directly to the institutions of the EU. The central station is barely ten minutes away on foot. If you are travelling by car, the serviced apartments hotel offers an underground car park (as an option) including two spaces complete with recharging point for electric/hybrid vehicles. Are you in Brussels on a business trip or for a family holiday? Your serviced apartments hotel offers you various types of accommodation to suit your needs, from a studio for one or two people, to serviced apartments with a separate bedroom, for three or four people. All our accommodation benefits from a fully equipped kitchen area and complimentary WiFi. Ensure a truly tailor-made stay thanks to our à la carte services (housekeeping on request, breakfast, etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Brussels Sainte-Catherine Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing