We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & underwhelmed”
Review of Le Roy d'Espagne

Le Roy d'Espagne
Reserve with
Le Roy d'Espagne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #600 of 3,981 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: After the 1695 bombardment left a large part of the buildings on the Grand-Place in ruins, the guilds were responsible for its reconstruction. The baker’s guild rebuilt the Roy d’Espagne at number 1, Grand Place, in 1697. The patron-saint of bakers, Saint Aubert’s bust can still be seen right above the main entry, watching over his artisans. On the second floor, Charles II’s bust ornates the facade and gives his name to the building. At the time Charles II was king of Spain and sovereign of the Southern Netherlands, geogra-phically comprising Belgium of today. The building, having suffered during the French Revo-lution, was in terrible condition, but was restored in 1902 under the influence of then mayor of Brussels : Charles Buls. Having been a cafe and afterwards an ironmongery, of which the gallery remains on the first floor, finaly exercing its previous vocation in 1954. This side of the Grand’Place offers the most glamorous view of what Jean Cocteau named « world’s most beautifull theater ». The Estaminet, our private dining hall is located on the second floor, which allows an even better view to savor for those lucky enough to dine there.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Went for dinner on a relatively quiet night as the restaurant still looked busy. Don’t be fooled, it was only busy with tourists like myself having never eaten there before. Service was very poor with staff barely giving you a chance to finish your order before walking away.
Cocktails were ordered (€11.80 each). The wrong cocktail was brought down & it tasted of nothing but had a strange aftertaste.
Our food (chicken mushroom vol et vont €17.20) came out very quickly but it was apparent straight away that it had been microwaved. The chicken was so dry, it was inedible and the pastry was stale & chewy.
Nobody once checked if we were ok & we had to ask for the bill after waiting a lengthy time.
Very very poor overall, don’t be fooled by the lovely decor. Would of rated it 0 stars if it gave the option.

Thank Moira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royjphb, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hello Moira,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your visit and for giving us such complete feedback.

We would like to apologize if our staff did not check if you were OK or took some time to deliver the bill. We do our very best to serve our clients as fast as possible while giving the space and time they need to enjoy their visit as well as the view of the Grand-Place.

Regarding the food, let it be known that we cook everything in our kitchen with fresh ingredients. Nothing is microwaved! In case of problem or insatisfaction, we encourage our client to share their thoughts on-site in order to find a solution or propose an alternative.

Finally, about our prices, we would like to insist on the fact the we are in the average for similar places and offerings in Brussels and, if we compare ourselves with other big European cities, we can even say that we are under...

We sincerely hope that you will give Le Roy d'Espagne a second chance in the future as your comment does not translate the investment and effort put daily in our prestigious establishment seen as a 'classic' by locals as well.

Le Roy d'Espagne Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We all enjoyed the food and the stoemp was very good. The waiter was OK but seemed a bit put off taking care of a group of 6 that was running up a large bill.

Thank Carter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royjphb, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi,

First of all, let us thank you for your visit and for this comment.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your experience at Le Roy d'Espagne.

Regarding the service, we do our very best to serve our clients in the best way possible, which is sometimes difficult due to the large affluence that we might have.

We hope to see you again very soon at Le Roy d'Espagne.

Le Roy d'Espagne Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Good location and I knew it would be pricy but €6.50 for an Orange juice! It wasn't even a full pint! Pants pulled all the way down. Go elsewhere if you can as better food is about.

Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royjphb, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Michael,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting Le Roy d'Espagne.

We are deeply sorry to hear that you didn't find the experience worth it, despite the unique location and the fresh orange juice.

Running a prestigious establishment such as Le Roy d'Espagne comes at a cost but we do our best to keep our prices in the average.

Knowing this, we hope to see you again soon at Le Roy d'Espagne!

Le Roy d'Espagne Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We came here on a Sunday evening, with not much idea of where to go for dinner. We had seen this place during the day and so decided to give it a try.
I had a panache (or shandy, if you're British) and the spaghetti carbonara. This was very tasty, but not served in a way I was used to - it arrived with an egg yolk in a plastic container on the top! I mixed this in to the pasta and it was lovely; I suppose this is so that those who cannot eat potentially undercooked egg could still enjoy the meal.
The pasta was really enjoyable. My partner ordered the chicken burger, but this was a bit dry, and the chips that came on the side seemed to have been made a while ago - they weren't very tasty. Having sampled some of the frites in the city already, this was disappointing.
The atmosphere was nice and the servers were friendly, if not very quick. We asked for the bill twice (two separate servers) and only got it after around 20 minutes. Luckily we were able to pay quite quickly after that. They were very facilitating when I asked to pay part cash and part card.
This was a fairly nice meal and it is in a good location.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royjphb, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello Chloe,

Thank you so much for your visit and for this review. We are glad that you have liked your experience with us!

We take not of your remarks regarding the waiting time and we will do our very best to improve this in the futur.

We hope to see you again soon at Le Roy d'Espagne.

Le Roy d'Espagne Team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Trying to find somewhere for breakfast around the Grand-Place was not easy. Eventually we ended up here and were met by a waiter called Luigi who sat us on a table overlooking the Grand Place. We were warmly welcomed with a smile and good English. Breakfast was a couple of croissants per person with delicious hot chocolate, just what we needed. Luigi was a great ambassador for the restaurant and Brussels.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royjphb, Responsable relations clients at Le Roy d'Espagne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Ian,

Thank you so much for your visit and for sharing your experience with us!

Your comment makes us smile and we will definitely share it with Luigi ;-)

We are thrilled that you have enjoyed the breakfast with a view on the most beautiful square in the world!

Hope to see you again soon!

Le Roy d'Espagne Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Roy d'Espagne also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le Roy d'Espagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing