We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rather quirky but good, business like hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marivaux Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marivaux Hotel
Ranked #47 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersBronze level
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rather quirky but good, business like hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Excellent, clean, large room (although no view). Helpful (English speaking) and attentive staff. Breakfast varied and generally of good quality. Rather limited public spaces though, reflecting the rather quirky, oddly proportioned building (apparently used to be a theatre or cinema). Perfect location for business in the north part of Brussels (close to the railway station) or the touristy central district. Brasserie served excellent food, though with little atmosphere (possibly better for lunch than dinner)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    760
    245
    70
    33
See reviews for
228
830
119
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel was recommended by a friend in the hotel industry and it did not disappoint!
We were lucky to be given an upgraded room which was very large,immaculately clean with a huge flat screen television and a very modern and excellently equipped bathroom with a bath as well as a shower cubicle.
The hotel is well placed with the Grand Place and tourist areas only 10 min walk away. It only takes a few minutes to walk in the opposite direction to the Metro. which is very easy to use and cheap.
The taxis were also numerous and very reasonable.
The hotel has a bar and 'Meat Me' restaurant that offerred an excellent evening menu.
This hotel is Ok for business guests and tourists, I recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollieandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waasmunster, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We made a reservation but I mixed up dates and so we were one week to early. Unfortunately the hotel was completely booked. We needed 2 rooms and it was about 6 o'clock. The staff was very helpful in finding another hotel in the neighborhood. I can not review the hotel but I experienced that although it was my mistake they did everything possible. Next time i choose this hotel again but will be sure it is on the right day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

It’s about a 10-15min walk from the Nord Train Station and hence very convenient to get to and from the ariport. But a good 30 min walk from the Grand Place and city centre and that too if you get the route right. But the hotel itself is on a main street, just off the ring, which means it is a 2 min walk to catch the hop on hop off city sightseeing bus. It’s also close to the shopping areas and plenty of restaurants and supermarkets very nearby (its parallel to a pedestrian shopping street). Rooms are big for European standards, very clean and neat. In my room, the bath and toilet were separate. You get nice big towels and some basic bath room accessories like soap, shampoo etc. Free wifi and it works fine! The breakfast is again the regular European fare. Mostly pre-packaged, processed stuff and just some eggs, bacon and potatoes that are freshly cooked and served hot. But, this is the case with most hotels so it’s not a complaint. Staff is friendly and will guide you around and provide you maps, tour recommendations etc, which is very useful. No complaints really and would definitely recommend the place for a short stay, if you don't mind the 30 min walk to the centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaliSosale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed in the hotel Marivaux for about 2 weeks and there's really not a lot to complain about. Me and my friend, we stayed in a double room and although the view was non-existent, the room was very clean and the staff very helpful. Wifi was really good comparing to some other hotels and the location was also quite good. The breakfast was OK but sometimes over-crowded and messy. Of course if you're planning to stay in the hotel the whole time, this is not the best choice but for people visiting Brussels for business or just for fun, it's a good one.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 km away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#59 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.2 km away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.1 km away
Hotel Le Plaza
Hotel Le Plaza
#38 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
0.5 km away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marivaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marivaux Hotel

Property: Marivaux Hotel
Address: Boulevard Adolphe Maxlaan, 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Brussels
#16 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#25 Green Hotel in Brussels
#28 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Marivaux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marivaux, a former cinema tastefully renovated into a 4 star hotel, has 96 high standard bedrooms as well as 9 meeting rooms. The Marivaux Hotel is located just minutes away from the historic centre, the Grand Place, the shopping streets and the Business centre. The European District can be easily reached by Metro. All of the rooms are stylishly and elegantly decorated. They are also equipped with a range of facilities (free WiFi, free coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV, mini bar, safe,...) in order to respond to the guests’ different needs and demands. The Brasserie Meat Me, alludes to the cinematic and artistic past of the Marivaux and serves international fusion cuisine that remains affordable to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Marivaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marivaux Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing