We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
174
214
85
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
214
85
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grote markt great location quiet street old town the main square hot and cold food separate toilet nice breakfast central location spent nights beautiful hotel room was large minute walk first floor mini bar yogurt comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a short city break with our one year old. The hotel is in a great location just off the main square, and is in immaculate condition. Our deluxe double room with garden view was a good size and easily fit a cot in. The bed was comfortable, and the whole room was finished to a high standard - with some great chocolates too! The lift to them was incredibly slow though.

Breakfast was the main highlight for us - the buffet was delicious and had a good variety on offer, all served on an olive wood table. Sunday breakfast seemed to be a bit more limited and not as fresh though, perhaps due to opening times of nearby shops.

The reception staff were very efficient and polite, and made our stay very comfortable. We'd highly recommend Hotel Rubens Grote-Markt.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank robkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Rob,

Thanks for this review.

We're pleased to note you had a great time in our hotel and enjoyed our location. We're also glad to read you made the most of your room's space, comfort and view over the garden. Your kind words about the good quality of service and reception will be passed on to the whole staff.

We take note of your remarks. Thanks for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Didier Boehlen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed three nights and loved it. Huge room and bathroom overlooking the courtyard. Enormous comfortable bed. Proper coat hangers! Only suggestion would be a proper mirror in the room and the shaving mirror could not be used as it hung down facing the floor. We were more than comfortable though and loved the huge walk in shower (although a knobbly shower mat would make it safer as shower floor very smooth). Breakfast was in a lovely room and excellent. Everything was do it yourself including boiling eggs etc. Perhaps old fashioned but I do like being greeted and offered tea or coffee so it felt a little soulless with no staff around but the quality and quantity made up for it. Seemed to be a mix of tourists and business people. Very good location. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ericollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Eric and Ollie,

Thanks for your review.

It's rewarding to read that our hotel did meet your expectations. Thanks for mentioning the large size of your room, its bathroom, comfortable bedding and courtyard view.

We take into consideration your remarks on the service and maintenance issues.

We are also very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast made of a wide selection of fresh and good products. Thanks again for your recommendation and positive feedback on our location.

We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards,

Didier Boehlen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

I booked ten rooms remotely and we had a combination of large family rooms, twins, doubles etc. The hotel admin was faultless. I communicated about parking( which we didn’t use in the end as did park and ride due to terrible traffic- very easy) room changes and they were attentive. Nd thorough.
The arrival and rooms all perfect. Modern and clean in a great old building.
Breakfast out of this world buffet hit and cold .... fabulous!
Position was great in a quiet side street just off the square. Brilliant. We did not eat in evening as had our wedding party at groote witte arend,which was delicious!
Thank you for a wonderful and professional stay!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Geridam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Geridam,

Thanks for this review about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are so happy you valued the emplacement of our hotel for your family wedding.

All the staff is grateful for your compliments address to them. It's always a pleasure to satisfy our guests.

We hope to welcome you again on many more occasions.

Our best wishes,
Didier Boehlen, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

This hotel is very well located and has just been renovated. The hotel is occupying the
renovated rooms without taking into consideration the safety of its customers.
The shower room has no soap holder and bars. The floor is very slippery. My wife fell
badly in the shower when trying to reach the soap in the floor. We informed the hotel and
they said that the bars had not arrived yet and that we should use a lot of towels in the
floor to avoid falling. This is a very flemish way to solve the problem. I am a great admirer of Rubens and he for sure does not deserve this kind of treatment on his name.

Room Tip: If you go do not take your car there. The garage is a nightmare.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Irones P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Irones,

We are grateful for the time you took to post your review concerning your recent stay.

We are glad you and your family appreciated our location just a short walk from the bustling Grand Place.

We are very sorry to hear of your wife's incident in the bathroom. All our showers do have an anti-slip coating and we can assure you that we make sure everything complies to health and safety regulations. We are grateful to you for bringing this matter to our attention and we will be further looking into this problem as well as making sure our guests are advised about precautions. As our staff mentioned during your stay, after some guests feedback, we have ordered handlebars for all our bathrooms and they are due to be installed during the next few days. We do hope you wife was not injured and you were able to enjoy your visit to the city.

We all very much hope we can welcome you back for a future visit. Best regards,

Didier Boehlen, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

This hotel is situated about 15 minutes walk from the train station and is right next door to the heart of Antwerp's historic district. Modern decor and very spacious rooms with big walk in showers, huge beds and plenty of storage. Breakfast went on until a very civilised 11am at the weekend and check-out not until 12 - this made everything so easy and meant we could make the most of a relaxing long weekend in Antwerp. Hotel staff friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. Excellent value for money when booked through Expedia. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoblinhairdoShef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Guests,

Thank you for this positive review regarding your experience at Rubens in Antwerp.

We appreciate your positive review and your kind mention of our wonderful location.

Our team members are always happy to provide information about the local area, and take the time to make sure that your stay is as relaxing as possible.

Thank you for also mentioning our spacious and recently refurbished room, we are proud of the quality of our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.

Kind regards,
Didier Boehlen, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews