We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, bad service, "mexican" food”
Review of Popocatepetl

Popocatepetl
Ranked #673 of 1,538 Restaurants in The Hague
Price range: US$29 - US$37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Zuidwal
Reviewed 4 April 2018

the food was ok, just standard.
the service was really bad, late, mixed orders.
but: the location is very nice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Manager at Popocatepetl, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Tim
We would like to thank you for your review.
Sorry to read about the poor service during your recent visit.
Not our standards, feel free to send us some detailed feedback service and food wise.
We hope to see you back at Popo and let you experience a better Popo.

Kind regards,
^Team Popo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2018

Centrally located and superbly appointed, this restaurant, named after an active volcano, serves decent Mexican cuisine.

Thank Sraj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Manager at Popocatepetl, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thanks for the review
^Popo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 22 people there. We had plenty of delicious mexican food. I especially recommend the vegetarian salad. The quantity was great, though the quality of the food were normal. The rice was a bit overcooked. The staff was very nice (Fatti) and the place was nicely decorated. Prices are high for the type of food, but once a month is worth it.

1  Thank VanessaMdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Manager at Popocatepetl, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Vanessa,
We would like to thank you for your rating and feedback.
hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
^Team Popo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stopped by while visiting The Hague. After walking around all morning and afternoon we stopped in for a bite to eat. I don’t remember the menu out front saying they didn’t serve lunch. We were looking forward to something warm to eat and ordered a bowl of chicken tortilla soup. It was barely lukewarm. When we found out they didn’t serve much off the menu we opted for warm chips and guacamole. The chips were cold and the guacamole was tasteless. We won’t go back.

1  Thank Kraea62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Manager at Popocatepetl, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Kraea62,
We are very sorry that your visit to our town ended up in disappointment. Of course, this is not our standard and we hope that you will give us another chance.
Kind regards, team popo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

I was simply appalled by the service we received during our visit. We specifically ordered the bottle of red Cabernet Sauvignon through way of pointing on the menu and verbally explaining so.
Upon filling our glass, we discovered we had been served a bottle of white wine. When we made this known to our waitress, she replied by saying she specifically remembered us pointing to the bottle of white. We did not agree, and she went to consult with the supervisor.
When she returned, she said we had to pay for one glass of the white because now they had to throw away the full bottle of white. We said this would be wasteful and that they could use it as an open bottle behind the bar. She then replied by saying she didn’t make the rules and that they would dispose of the bottle along with copious amounts of food every day.
When we received the bottle of red wine, she reminded us to point towards the correct bottle next time as she isn’t very good with the names displayed on the menu.
I have never, at any restaurant, ever been charged for anything I didn’t order, especially when it wasn’t my mistake in the first place. - I will not visit again.

Thank EFleurW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Manager at Popocatepetl, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

dear EFleurw,

we are very sorry to hear that your visit to our restaurant did not went the way it should.
from the waitress point of view, I could understand the mistake however that does not mean you should pay for that mistake. We have given our staff extra wine training and we went through the communication towards guests. We hope you would give our restaurant another chance.

Kind regards, team Popo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Popocatepetl also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Popocatepetl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing