We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
486
227
56
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
227
56
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peace palace den haag panorama mesdag bed was very comfortable within walking distance hotel is located corner room old world breakfast buffet free wifi business trip night's sleep rooms are nice city centre excellent hotel royal palace tram stop
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

We actually had a nice stay in this hotel. Room a bit small and dated, but clean and well maintained. Restaurant also adequate, and location very convenient.

Then at checkout a single member of staff ruined our experience at this hotel forever. We had a lot of luggage and while unloading from the lift the door suddenly closes (no sensor mechanism to prevent it from closing on a limb) and we’re unable to open it again. We ask for help and the receptionist is anything but in a rush to help us. Then the door finally opens again and instead of apologizing or helping with our luggage he shrugs his shoulders and walks away.

Then at checkout I’m asked by this same individual to pay without even having been presented the bill...

When our taxi arrives we are putting all our luggage on a cart right in front of the reception counter in his plain sight and again no help from this person. This is after we already pointed out he was unhelpful by not offering any help. Fortunately a colleague shows up who sees us struggle and immediately offers her help.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RogerChengdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natascha_Mondriaan, Director of Sales at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Mr. Van Bijnen,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Let me start by saying, we feel very sorry about the elevator situation that occurred as well as how we handled this with you.
Our staff should be the Ambassadors for our hotel, and our everyday goal is to be as hospitable as possible, so that every of our beloved guests leave with a smile from ear to ear.

We are so sorry to read this wasn't the case with you and your wife.
Would you be ever so kind to send us your email address, we would love to get in contact personally.

Please send your details to sales@ambassador.carlton.nl.

Thank you and we really hope to hear from you.

Warm regards,

Natascha Mondriaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

My wife and I stayed at the Carlton Ambassador for two nights at the beginning of a 10-day European trip. Check-in was very smooth and our corner room was very nice and very reasonable. We had booked some 5-1/2 months in advance. The bed was very comfortable and the linens and towels exceptional. The included breakfast was simply exceptional – a real joy. There was great coffee in the room. The location is also excellent – in a very nice neighborhood, a block and a half from tram stops, easy walking to a number of restaurants and shopping on Noordeinde. We also walked just several blocks to the International Peace Palace and to a canal tour boat on Mauritskade. It’s just around the corner from the Panorama Mesdag and in the midst of several embassies. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly throughout our 2-night stay. A thoroughly enjoyable stay. We would certainly rebook here on any future trips to The Hague.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaroonDawg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natascha_Mondriaan, Director of Sales at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear MaroonDawg67,

Wow, thank you so so much for sharing your lovely experience with us.
So great to read that you have enjoyed every single aspect the city of The Hague has to offer.

We would be delighted to welcome you again soon. Our guest relation officers know so much more hidden gems for you to visit.

Warm regards,

Natascha Mondriaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

i was there for business. The hotel is situated in a very good location, very quiet and close museums and restaurants. The rooms are spacious with a very nice decoration.

The staff is very helpful and professional.

the breakfast is very good with all the basics available, a more variety of food can be added.

highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mm8822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natascha_Mondriaan, Director of Sales at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear MM8822,

Thank you ever so much for sharing this nice review with potential travelers to our hotel.
Lovely to read that you have enjoyed every aspect of the city and our hotel.

You are so right, our hotel is situated very close to the city centre (300 m walking distance) but in a quiet area.
The Peace Palace, Panorama Mesdag and Mauritshuis are all on walking distance.

We hope we may welcome you again in the future!

Warm regards, Natascha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel long long time ago.

The hotel and restaurant have had a modern -classic- upgrade; comfi atmosphere and seats, small and tasty luncheon menu, nice wines and friendly staff.

The service was bit slow -esp. in the lobby- but much better than other places in the Hague.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank DiploNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natascha_Mondriaan, Director of Sales at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear DiploNico,

So good to read that you chose Carlton Ambassador again for your stay in The Hague.
As you already mention in your great review, our hotel did undergo a significant refurbishment in the past months.

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are very much looking forward welcoming you soon again!

Warm regards, Natascha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We were warmly welcomed and were able to move into our room immediately despite our early arrival. The room was very well equipped and the breakfast was delicious.
The staff was pleasant and very helpful; We got tips, which we also gladly followed and thus had a great stay in The Hague.
We can 100% recommend the hotel. Many Thanks!

Room Tip: large room, beautiful furniture, great staff
Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Viviane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natascha_Mondriaan, Director of Sales at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Viviane,

Thank you so much for your lovely words!
We always do our utmost best to check in guests who arrive early. This however depends on the number of rooms available.
Very glad that we could help you with that.

So nice to read that you followed our tips in order to see all the highlights in The Hague. Our employees are also city Ambassadors who can make you aware of all the Pearls The Hague has to offer.

We are looking forward welcoming you soon again!

Warm regards, Natascha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews