We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
483
227
56
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
227
56
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signature room peace palace embassy area den haag panorama mesdag comfortable hotel within walking distance hotel is located old world breakfast buffet free wifi business trip night's sleep rooms are nice checking out city centre excellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

3 nights in a beautiful cozy room on the 4th floor. Quiet room with good heating as the temperature was well below zero outside. Wonderful breakfast with plenty of variety served by very friendly staff. Great location with plenty of nice restaurants very nearby. Beautiful time of the year with flowers coming up through the grass verges .... just wish it was a little warmer but then this is probably the only thing the hotel couldn’t control! Will be back for my next business trip in The Hague

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelledenbraven, Brand Ambassador at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thanks Mark for your lovely review! Spring is a fantastic time to visit The Hague. I hope you had some time to discover some of the beautiful highlights or hidden spots in this beautiful city during your business trip.

Great to read that you have enjoyed your cozy room on the 4th floor. We are very proud of our recently renovated rooms in English boutique style.

See you soon!
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

This is wonderful, well maintained hotel that is just on the verge of being a "Boutique" establishment. The hotel has been here for some time and has an old world flavor to it, starting with the oak revolving door in the entrance, that is hand made with mortice and tenon joints. The service is outstanding, the staff is very helpful and pleasant to a fault. Compared to many in the area, the rates are very reasonable.
At checkin the desk person told me that the mattresses had recently been changed and if I had any issues to let them know. I have been traveling for many, many years, and I cannot remember a more comfortable hotel bed! If I could have I would have taken the mattress home with me.
The restaurant is small, but the food was excellent(try the lentil soup at lunch). If you're a scotch drinker, the bar is to die for. I don't know how many different single malts they have but it is over 50 and maybe close to 100? The folks at the bar were a pleasure, even when my wife asked for a Mojito in a scotch bar.
we would go back in a second.

Room Tip: Suite 1 has two large rooms and is accessable from the street
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6533john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelledenbraven, Brand Ambassador at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you John for this amazing review. We couldn't describe the hotel any better ourselves. It is such a pleasure to read that you had an amazing time with your wife!

I am so thrilled to read that you enjoyed our new NASA foam mattresses and that our Ambassadors made your stay even more pleasant. Everyday we do our utmost to make our guests feel at home, so we were more than happy making mojitos for your wife =)!

Fantastic that we can welcome you back in the near future.

A warm embrace,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

The Carlton Ambassador is set in a quiet neighbourhood about fifteen minutes walk from the centre but with trams and buses nearby (Den Haag transport system is excellent, park your car and forget it, just use a day card). The rooms are nearly all different being an older property recently renovated. All rooms are of a high standard with all modern amenities, beds are comfortable and the bathrooms well equipped. The more expensive rooms are larger. The staff here are helpful, willing and pleasant and go out of their way to meet all your needs - haven't come across better!
Breakfast is as you would expect, plenty of everything. Omelettes and fried eggs are cooked to order. We have tried other 4star hotels in Den Haag but this is by far the best.
A really comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cheasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelledenbraven, Brand Ambassador at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Good morning Cheasy,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with our boutique hotel onTripadvisor. It is a real pleasure to read that you had an excellent stay in our hotel.

It is a delight to read you have enjoyed the breakfast and the newly renovated rooms. I am happy to read our Ambassadors could help you with anything to make your stay even better. I will share your lovely compliments with the team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and hopefully we can welcome you soon again.

A warm embrace,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

My husband and i have just returned after a 5 night stay at the Carlton Ambassador from celebrating a special wedding anniversary. The staff on reception and dining area were exceptionally friendly warm and welcoming and very eager to help with restaurant bookings,directions and museums to visit . The hotel is centrally located but in a quiet part of the city and within easy walking distance to great restaurants and unique cosy bars. the mauritskade bus and tram stop is only few minutes walk . Breakfast is of a very high standard and plenty of variety for all tastes . The hotel is beautifully furnished and has a wonderful atmosphere. Our bedroom was spacious and tastefully decorated with the most comfortable bed and pillows. Bathroom was very well equipped with a movable magnifying mirror. When we arrived at hotel and on the day of our anniversary we were surprised with a lovely display of rose petals on the bed with a card and biscuits. We have had an unforgettable experience at the Carlton Ambassador and cannot praise it enough. We would love to return to Le Hague and would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelledenbraven, Brand Ambassador at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Wow, such a lovely review! I am very happy to read that you had such a wonderful anniversary in our boutique hotel. Your words about not considering staying anywhere else in The Hague are highly appreciated.

Great to read your kind words regarding the location, staff, the room and the breakfast.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

A warm embrace,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

The Carlton Ambassador is an excellent place to stay when visiting the Hague for a weekend. It’s situated in the embassy quarter, near the Mesdag Panorama, Peace Palace, Noordeinde and Denneweg, and (lbnl) Mauritskade parking. It is rated four stars and this is very rightly so. Friendly personel, luxurious rooms, cleanliness, lots of privacy and a copious breakfast make it a sheer joy to stay. The only tip for the staff ;-) would be to grease the airco because it was really noisy. But once you have managed to turn it off that problem is over (We went in wintertime) In all: highly recommanded, we’ll be back!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelledenbraven, Brand Ambassador at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Wow, what an amazing review. Thank you so much for your kind words, we couldn’t have said it better ourselves!

The hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy the stately quarter, with its boutiques and restaurants on Noordeinde and Denneweg. Equally, the hotel's location in the embassy quarter makes it the ideal base to explore the highlights of our beloved The Hague.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

A warm embrace,

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews