We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
27
58
22
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
58
22
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lots of character no lift train station parking meters perfect location picturesque canal lovely town by foot university town bed was comfortable centre individuality amsterdam mattress convenience schiphol
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

A great hotel situated on a quiet picturesque canal. The location is walking distance to all you want to see and 10 minutes from the train station. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and definitely would stay again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We had a great stay at De Doelen. It is perfectly located in the centre region and all of the family members and staff that run and work at the hotel are extremely lovely. We enjoyed our room which was clean and spacious and had a great view over a canal and the great breakfast available each morning.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 2-now3-traveladdicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This is a delightful place to stay and explore the lovely town of Leiden and very good value for the level of comfort and hospitality provided. It is well located for exploring the main attractions and a short walk to the train station for sightseeing to other areas.The canal side historic house has plenty of charm and individuality. Rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable with quality bedding. The rooms do vary in size and furnishings but are adequately described on the hotel website. Canal side rooms can be somewhat exposed to the sounds of late night revellers, but the view makes up for it.
Breakfast has adequate offerings in generous quantities. The enjoyment of our stay at hotel de doelen was enhanced by the warm welcome and generous assistance provided by the owners/ staff. Would thoroughly recommend this delightful boutique hotel.

Room tip: Canal side rooms have lovely view but can be a bit noisy . Other rooms are quiet. Upper floors require negotiating some steep stairs .
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2adults2teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

The location was wonderful - a short stroll into the town square and restaurants. The staff were very helpful in all regards and even looked after our parking problem while we went on a long bike ride through the waterways around Leiden. The room was comfortable and reasonable for the price we paid. We couldn't have expected more. Breakfast was available for an extra cost - but we didn't partake.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Short walk from train station along a charming canal. Older building with lots of character. Room was spacious with bathroom across hall inside our room. Modern, clean bathroom with tub and shower. Bed was comfortable and hosts were very friendly. Breakfast was extra but filling. Central location close to many restaurants and cafes. Would return if ever in Leiden.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Healey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews