We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
117
39
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
39
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews military barracks special hotel great location doors slam lovely boutique shower stall perfect place to stay within easy walking distance small hotel a ground floor room nespresso machine beautiful canal rooms are modern first floor friendly hotel train station tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Nice place to stay. Surpicing in all ways. Excellent service. Very kind and helpfull employees. Of course we go back.We must make 200 words but all is told:) so way must I bring in 200 words? Perfect is perfect

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jaap O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine Z, Public Relations Manager at Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is full of character. It used to be a watchhouse for soldiers and that is fully reflected in this contemporary design. Details are present in the flower pots, the lighting, the steel shower stall, the toilet roll holder, the camouflage colours green| braun | grey tiles in de bathroom .. a successful concept, it is. The room was great! It was as if we had arrived in the year 1945 but then put in a contemporary dress. The breakfast was very tasty. We strongly recommend the hotel. If you want to experience 1945 in a trendy way, book this hotel!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MCreiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Which is an understatement for this unique boutique. Nice location, nice rooms in an old military barrack, just along one of the many canals of Leiden and near birthplace of Rembrandt van Rijn. Very kind servants which are very helpfull to make your stay a wanna be back-one.
An attractive restaurant, linked the hotel just around the corner.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michèl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

The hotel is in a fabulous position looking out at a windmill and canals. It is an old barracks and is full of character with interesting fittings but still very comfortable and modern. The staff were excellent - very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. It was incredibly hot when we were there and there is no air conditioning because of the building's listed status, but there was a good fan in the room and it stayed fairly cool. The hotel is only about ten minutes' walk from the railway station and within easy walking distance of Leiden's attractions. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine Z, Public Relations Manager at Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Within walking distance to the train station, this hotel is in the middle of town, but nestled in between a few small roads right next to the water and an old windmill. Originally this was a military building, now it is a modern and no-fuzz hotel with excellent service and clean, friendly rooms. If you are on the ground floor you might feel slightly exposed since othern guests will walk by your window, but I was not bothered. Wonderful shower, coffee/tea maker in the room, good bed. I want to especially mention the breakfast, which is great. In summer, take your cup of tea or coffee and step outside to look at the windmill and the Dutch sky!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews