We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable chairs and good food.”
Review of Grand Cafe Central

Grand Cafe Central
Ranked #5 of 134 Restaurants in Gouda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Dutch, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Grand Cafe was founded in 1916 by the grand parents of the current owner. The expertise of almost 100 years hospitality makes this a unique place. The drive for best service and quality is the motivator to serve our guests. At a fair price we will welcome you and provide you with all the good things Gouda has to offer! For lunch, dinner, drinks and of course our world famous applepie we are opened 7 days a week. Looking foreward pampering you!
Reviewed 28 June 2017

We made a Sunday day trip to the lovely little town of Gouda. Train tickets from Utrecht Central cost €13.60 return per person. It was very quiet when we arrived but around lunchtime it began to get a little busier. We stopped off for coffee and cake at the Grand Central Cafe to rest our weary legs. Two coffees and two cakes cost us €13.95. There was a brass band playing in the square.
Service with a smile.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BOXtheFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

Russian Egg and fish salad and the Dish of the Day was Caramelised Ribs.
Salad could have fed two people and delicious. Very tasty Ribs with portion of salad and chlps.
Limonchello Cassata for dessert was shared between two.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Good choice of beers
Would fully recommend to try the food.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 247heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Very straightforward and charming service. Menu is compact but what they do do they do Well!
Wine good Italian and the specials were terrific value.
The musical chimes of the clocks in the market make a fine back drop.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank wilsonbamburghcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

A good restaurant overlooking the Town Hall with a small list of food available. But the food is ample in size and fills your stomach.
It's expensive then other restaurants around but has more people sitting and eating then any other restaurant around.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank atulg376
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We came here on Ascension Day which also was very sunny so the place was very busy! We asked for a seat outside and although one wasn't available right then, we were allowed to sit inside with a drink until one became available. We only waited 5 mins. It was lovely outside, with shade for those who were too hot and exposed areas for those who wanted to tan. I got the Hamburger of the day and my husband got the Italian Baguette. Both excellent. Service was out of this world.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank kt3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Grand Cafe Central also viewed

Gouda, South Holland Province
Gouda, South Holland Province
 
Gouda, South Holland Province
Gouda, South Holland Province
 

Been to Grand Cafe Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.