We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of our trip”

Kamphuisen eet & drinklokaal
Ranked #16 of 138 Restaurants in Gouda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 2801 LA Gouda
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Sometimes it's all about the food, sometimes it's the venue, sometimes it's the staff. Memorable meals have an indefinable quality about them that can be hard to capture in a description and this was one such meal. We hadn't booked but having read good reviews we thought we'd give it a try and from the moment we stepped over the threshold we had one good experience after another: the table was lovely, the barman friendly and knowledgable, the local beer excellent (so we thought we'd try them all!) and the food was very good with generous portions and and an interesting take on some classics. This is somewhere we'd happily visit regularly and had we been staying in Gouda longer we'd certainly have returned. As it was it gave us the perfect send off

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

This is a little off the beaten path, but a great find! The service, food, location, and atmosphere are superior. We had a drink sitting at a table on the sidewalk while we waited for a canal-side table to become available for dinner. Next time we are in Gouda, this will be our go-to!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank pjrjm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Living in Gouda for a few years now and i should reprimand myself for not having visited this restaurant before. Although we had not booked we could were brought to an outside table right bedside the canal.
White voile curtains swaying in the breeze kept out the sun, what a sweet place for summer's dinner. Service was -maybe due to the unreal hot weather- a tiny bit slow, staff were welcoming, atmosphere was very pleasant and relaxed and the food was absolutely delicious. I will to go there in winter for a dinner inside....already looking forward

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank aafke b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

A busy Monday night but they fitted us in. Great food , really friendly service. Situated in an original syrup waffle bakery, overall a lovely relaxed atmosphere

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markthetraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

The food and wine at this canal side restaurant is original and delicious and it has a charming local feel. When it's warm you can eat outside but under the cover of the old canal side fish market. You must go here and try the date Babi - I live in England and I will be back to visit this place.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gourmetexplorer1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kamphuisen eet & drinklokaal also viewed

Gouda, South Holland Province
Gouda, South Holland Province
 
Gouda, South Holland Province
Gouda, South Holland Province
 
Gouda, South Holland Province
Gouda, South Holland Province
 

Been to Kamphuisen eet & drinklokaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing