We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ”
Review of Hofje van Jongkind

Hofje van Jongkind
Ranked #19 of 138 Restaurants in Gouda
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Description: Hofje van Jongkind is an Coffeebar and coffee roastery in the city center of Gouda. We serve breakfast and lunch, cheese fondue and pancakes. We are open 6 days from Monday till Saturday from 8:00 till 17:00x
Restaurant details
Description: Hofje van Jongkind is an Coffeebar and coffee roastery in the city center of Gouda. We serve breakfast and lunch, cheese fondue and pancakes. We are open 6 days from Monday till Saturday from 8:00 till 17:00x
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Great venue, excellent food and brilliant staff. Menu available in English. The coffee was simply excellent!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 987basitj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene V, Manager at Hofje van Jongkind, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you very much for the kind words, it's good to hear you had such an amazing experience. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2018

This cafe was a great find. Extremely friendly owners and delicious food in a historical setting.

The cafe partly consists of a number of restored almshouses, which date back to the times of the Dutch Golden Age and offer a rare glimpse into the lives of the poor and elderly in former times.

The food was of the highest quality, with the homemade apple pie being particulalry worthy of mention. Pride of place, however, must go to the coffee, which is blended on the premises, and was easily the finest cup that we enjoyed during our two week tour of the Southern Netherlands.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Conunctio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene V, Manager at Hofje van Jongkind, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely words. We are very happy that you had such a good experience with us, we loved having you here. Hopefully we can see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

We had read great things about this restaurant and they were all true. The setting is just gorgeous. Original building stunningly transformed into a great cafe. Atmosphere was so positive. Staff team were really on it. We had pancakes with banana and syrup which were fresh and brought to us by the chef, which was a great touch. We also bought two big bag of coffee beans, roasted by the owners. Overall we loved it. You must go. If I was to suggest one thing it would be to change the logo. It’s old fashioned and doesn’t reflect the stylish business.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Panel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene V, Manager at Hofje van Jongkind, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

We are very happy you had such a good time here and a very good experience, your nice words mean a lot to us and we appreciate them very much. We hope you enjoy your coffee beans at home and hopefully see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Beautifully renovated cafe with very friendly owners and staff- immediately made to feel like you were visiting a friends house. Tried the brownie which was very dry hopefully this was only a bad batch as i think the baked goods our cooked onsite with a lot of care. The other plates of food looked nice. Nice coffee

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sa0u8230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene V, Eigenaar at Hofje van Jongkind, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We sorry to hear your brownie was not oke. We make everything by ourself, I think it was a bad batch.

Hope to see you again when you are in Gouda.

Kind regards
Eugene en Sandhya
Hofje van Jongkind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We have been cruising in our boat for 6 weeks now and we have just come across the best coffee in the Netherlands. We would know given we come from Melbourne.

The coffee and service is outstanding. You must find this place for a real experience.

Thank you Hofjie of Jongkind xx

It's just tucked away behind the markets.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene V, Eigenaar at Hofje van Jongkind, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Alice,

It was nice to meet you and your parents. Thank you for these lovely words. Hope yo see you again.

Kind regards,
Eugene en Sandhya
Hofje van Jongkind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hofje van Jongkind also viewed

Gouda, South Holland Province
Gouda, South Holland Province
 
Stolwijk, South Holland Province
Gouda, South Holland Province
 
Gouda, South Holland Province
Gouda, South Holland Province
 

Been to Hofje van Jongkind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing