We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Raecks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Raecks
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Haarlem
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We were so glad we decided to stay in Haarlem rather than Amsterdam - nice location, good breakfast, friendly owners. The bed was much more comfortable than the place we stayed in Brussels and we had much more room.

Would have no problem recommending this hotel to a friend who wanted to see Amsterdam but not stay there - plus Haarlem was lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmallTownGirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

Hotel die Raeckse is very well situated, It is not a luxury hotel, it's clean and the staff is very friendly. We had a basic room, but there are rooms with more luxury. Our bathroom was freezing. The breakfast was very well. As parking in Haarlem is expensive we could buy a parking ticket in the hotel for € 7,50 for a whole day, so that was cheap.
At my next visit to Haarlem I will sleep here again, but take a more expensive room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marathon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Stayed here during a convention and the hotel was well situated for the occassion, but still: small room, like being back in the seventies (green/brownish decoration of the bathroom), bathroom was freezingly cold and the door knob of the bathroom was held together with a safety pin (...).
Our room was situated at the street side of the hotel and at night we were kept up by people coming from the club nearby and in the morning we were woken by garbagebins with glass being collected, wipe car driving by etc.
The part of the hotel where the rooms are smelled of overcooked brussels-sprouts...

They do have free Wifi which is much appreciated and breakfast was okay as well, being the cheapest hotel available in Haarlem, this was to be expected, but cheap it was not! Maybe Haarlem is just an expensive city?

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Great location, large clean rooms, delicious homely breakfast, friendly hosts. Had a lovely relaxing time.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ps20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our two nights stay in this small but very well managed hotel tucked away Harleem. The staff were wonderful so also was the breakfast. Though our room was small, the twin beds were very comfortable. Had a wonderful stay. Would we be coming back? Sure, we will.

Room Tip: Book well ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 13 in Haarlem
696 reviews
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 13 in Haarlem
254 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 13 in Haarlem
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raecks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raecks

Address: Raaks 1, 2011 VA Haarlem, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range: €94 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Raecks 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Raecks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Die Raeckse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing