We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #99 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

While in Europe, I stayed at Hotel V for three days and returned after a short excursion out of country for another four days. I am a big fan of this hotel from the old location and feared that in the move (a while now I know) they may have lost something. Not so! Highlights...my room included a bike (necessary for time in amsterdam); breakfast was delicious and fresh; everyone and i mean everyone working there was friendly and accomodating; speak a little Dutch and they are pleased with the effort. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My room was very small and for me perfect! i had a nice balcony and view. This will be my requested room always (304). Now, as I write this, please remember that it is all for a great price. I had my laundry done and they even held some large items in between my two stays. They simply never said "no." For more money, I know that there are other places to stay and that must be considered in the evaluation. So, the location, the price, the experience... simply OUTSTANDING!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank knikitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 641 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is a beautiful hotel right in front of a tram stop (Frederiksplein). The lobby is very nice, the bar serves complimentary coffee and tea during your stay; the bad thing is that this only works during the open hours of the bar. We had a bit of an issue with the night receptionist, who took a lot of convincing to give us hot water for a tea when one of our party was feeling sick. He also couldn't help us find who to call for a health emergency. Fortunately, the wi-fi in the room helped us getting it solved ourselves. Breakfast is included (most hotels charge EUR12-18 per person) and it is quite a good value, but it's quite Dutch: no hot items (unless you count getting a bread right out of the oven as such). Also, the toilet drain in the room was quite noisy during the night, which was quite annoying. This was an issue in the first floor, but not when we stayed in the basement.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank englebip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Great hotel away from the 'centre' of Amsterdam, but close enough to enjoy walking around the canals - and let's face it, nowhere is very far from anywhere in Amsterdam! The hotel is very well-designed (though the large gold bulldog in the entrance is a little on the odd side...) and uses the space available very well - the rooms are small, but very comfortable, the bar and breakfast areas are lovely and the staff friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominicjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

A stylish, well-located hotel. Breakfast was included, but I was surprised to have to pay extra for eggs other than boiled. My room, a small double in the basement, was sparsely furnished, poorly lit, not carpeted and had a lot of bare concrete (presumably the modern style). The wardrobe was a pop up standing away from the wall. The TV was positioned at a poor angle and there was no headboard for the bed. I had a poor quality sleep due to the noise from the lift and stairs next to the room.
On the positive side, the bed was comfortable, the staff friendly and the room was immaculately clean. The bathroom was spotless, modern and has a great shower.
However, I think I would look elsewhere if I was to return to Amsterdam as the room was expensive (around £100) for what it was.

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms near the lift or stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheldon128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

A stylish hotel with a very convenient tram stop right outside. Our bedroom and ensuite were pretty small, but functional. It would have been nice for the lights to have been a bit brighter, it was very dull in our room and also for there to have been carpet instead of a cold floor.

The free tea and coffee from the bar are great, there's a welcoming fire to sit by and the breakfast was good and plentiful.

A few little touches would have conviced me to give this 5 out of 5 - the shower head was clogged up, but when we cleaned it ourselves it was a good shower, one bedside lamp wasn't working and the original wooden sash window (although lovely) was very draughty.

Overall, it was a good hotel, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkandtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 373 in Amsterdam
482 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#60 of 373 in Amsterdam
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Asterisk
#149 of 373 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#75 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,013 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#48 of 373 in Amsterdam
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: €87 - €265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing