We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor on the outside, great on the inside”
Review of Calle Ocho

Calle Ocho
Ranked #1,686 of 4,143 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

When we first arrived to this place we were a bit concerned standing outside and seeing the foggy window, narrow restaurant etc. We were many people so we were not sure they have the space :)

After we entered we noticed the place is quite deep, though truly narrow. We had plenty of space during dinner so this was not an issue.

The menu was pre-agreed and we went through a fair amount amount of dishes all tasting fairly well - we did have some mexicans with us who were less impressed, but i guess that is normal.

Service was at times a bit slow, specially considering thay it was a pre-agreed menu. I guess its because of the small kitchen size.

In any case i was reasonably satisfied at the end, and the price tag was also not too crazy so all in all i give it a rsting of 4...

Thank Tomaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

I was left speechless after leaving this place. I was walking around and was hungry and walked into the next random food place which happened to be Calle Ocho. There food here was absolutely Amazing ! I highly recommend the Nachos as an appetizer. They are very creative at making drinks and are very friendly and polite people. If you are looking for somewhere less crowded , this is the hole in the wall place to go to.

4  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

As a party of six arriving on a busy saturday evening, we pre-booked a table for 8pm. We had received written confirmation of this booking but on arrival our booking had been lost. It was only after proving the booking on our phone that we were believed and squeezed in after a 45 minute wait. The team could not cope with the amount of people in the restaurant. Drinks took 15 minutes to arrive and they forgot two of our food orders. The bill had extra items on it that we didnt order. The whole experience was stressful and we complained. However, the manager was rude and offered us no recompense or even apology for the experience. We paid the full amount of the bill and left. I will not be visiting this restaurant again. Poor staff, people-skills and management. Food was good (when it arrived).

5  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Me and 5 friends went to Amsterdam for a hen do and prior to going we booked here as it had good reviews. As we are a large group we emailed to confirm our booking and received a response from the manager, Thomas. It was not automated response either, it was a detailed response that also said make sure we're on time to avoid any shenanigans when we arrive so we confident all would be in order.

We arrived on time for our table at 8.30pm and we're told we didn't have a booking. As the placed seemed good due to how busy it was we pressed on with them despite the rude manager refusing to acknowledge he had messed up and even refused to speak with us. We were initially told by a female waiter that she couldn't seat us and there was nothing she could do and that we must have had an automated email response and should have contacted them to confirm our booking! I then had to literally show her the email to prove it and she was shocked and went to explain to the manager that he had responded to us and confirmed our booking but he refused to even acknowledge us!

Then another guy who I think may be an assistant manager spoke to us at 20.40 and told us he would get a table ready in 10-15 minutes. There was no apology but as there was no where else close we decided to wait. We were then asked by the female waiter what drinks we wanted so we all ordered drinks clearly on the assumption that was them apologising for their mistake. We were then seated at 21.05 but still with no apology and by this point we were too hungry to argue. We were seated and cramped in next to a table of locals so thought the place must be good. However, things only went downhill from there. The menu was difficult to understand and everytime we asked for the waiters to explain it to us it was as if it was a chore! Then when we ordered the food came out at various different times so some of us had completely finished our food while others were still waiting! They even got our order wrong and brought out things we didn't order but said we could still have them and as the food took so long to come out and was at different times, we agreed as at this point we were starving.

The food was "ok" but when you sit as a group you expect to eat together and this wasn't the case and given how popular the place seemed we expected more.

Then when our bill arrived they had put the first set of drinks on there and when we questioned it with male guy he laughed at the suggestion that they were complimentary! He then just walked off and we had to keep calling him back over to our table to discuss it. He then went to different parts of our group saying we were seated within 10-15 minutes and that was normal and he got quite angry when we tried to explain that our booking was at 20.30 and not 21.05!

They had even added on the food that we didn't order and said that we ate it, drank our drinks and should pay! Even when we asked to speak to the manager and complain we were refused and the waiter just kept laughing and walking away when we tried to explain how bad our experience was.

It's an absolutely disgusting place. Too cramped. OK food that comes out all at different times, rude and unprofessional staff and made what was initially a good trip an absolute nightmare!!!

BEST ADVICE - AVOID IT UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE SPOKEN TO RUDELY, GIVEN BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE, FOOD THAT TAKES AGES TO COME OUT AND TO AN OK STANDARD!

2  Thank CharJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Nice coctails although crowded atmosphere on a Saturday evening. Candle lights and snacks served as well.

Thank Ville K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calle Ocho also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Calle Ocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing