We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fajitas - warm and welcoming”

Alfonso's Mexican & Grill Restaurant
Reserve with
Alfonso's Mexican & Grill Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #647 of 4,630 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Arriving as a party of 5 without reservations, we were warmly greeted and promptly seated in a crowded but friendly setting. We've learned that finding decent Mexican food in Europe can present a challenge but Alfonso's certainly did their best in providing a delicious and abundant meal. The management was very good in terms of keeping everything running smoothly and service being at a high level. The dishes were excellent - and some dishes could easily be splilt and sufficient for two people. I had the shrimp fajitas and was pleasantly surprised at the quantity of shrimp. Seasoned and cooked to perfection, the fajitas were served with fresh flour tortillas, rice, beans, guacamole, cheese and sour cream on the side. I would easily have that again. My husband had the Tortilla Gigantes- a massive plate of meats, beans, rice, cheese, with the same saides that accompanied the shrimp fajitas. Other members of the party had the enchiladas - three large enchiladas stuffed with chicken and cheese; Combination Fajitas (beef, chicken) an Bief de Chorizo - a 300 gram steak. All were pleased with their respective dishes and agreed that they would, most definitely, return to this restaurant again. Definitely would recommend this particular restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mswiseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Came here because of the amazing reviews, but unfortunately I was rather dissatisfied with the results.We started with the Guacamole and the Empanadas; the Guacamole was pasty and blended past recognition, the Empanadas were slightly burnt and tasted like frozen Jamaican patties.
I ordered the 2-person Chicken Fajitas to share, which were average but nothing special; the chicken was dry and somewhat bland.
The service was okay, the owner was a bit overbearing. Overall, not really a pleasant experience. Would not recommend or go back.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank jazz 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

I went there with a couple of friends and we had the best time. Everything was amazing from the perfectly seasoned food to the fresh lime margaritas. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming and the staff was helpful and friendly. I strongly recommend it, if you're looking for a nice place to eat!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Gabriela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Last week I came to eat here with my friends. The food was delicious. We ordered fajitas and it was mouth-watering. The service was also very attended. Can't wait to come back!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank harim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Came here for dinner - the food was ok. Weren't very flexible on options with food. 2 friends came to meet us and were screamed at. Would never come back thanks to the angry owner.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Katejohns18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alfonso's Mexican & Grill Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Alfonso's Mexican & Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing