We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Chipotle-like Oasis”
Review of Salsa Shop

Salsa Shop
Ranked #649 of 4,630 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: At SALSA SHOP, what you see is what we wrap. Come watch our super-chefs work their magic in the open kitchen at our first location in the heart of Amsterdam, just off Rembrandt-square. All our food is prepared in front of you while you wait, using the freshest & most natural ingredients that literally burst with flavor. For example, we marinate our tender chicken and mouthwatering steak in our tempting, secret adobo blend rub before grilling them to perfection before your very eyes. And our pork is 3* "beter leven" oven-braised "Livar" for hours until it's pulled apart tender and then pan-seared. We have plenty of space to eat-in, but you can also take our meals home. Whatever suits you, hombre(tte)! LOCATIONS: Amstelstraat 32, 1017DA Ferdinand Bolstraat 1, 1072LA
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Salsa Shop is very similar to Chipotle, and is really impressive considering its European location. I ate here after being sans Mexican food for three months, and it really hit the spot. I got the burrito bowl with steak, and added some guacamole. The steak was cooked perfectly, and all the ingredients seemed fresh. The guac is an extra 2 euro, but for me it was well worth it.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

If you like spicey food and nice flavors this is a place to visit. They got various option and a lot of choice.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Wesley v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Wide selection of burritos, tacos, naked bowls and the freshest ingredients. Choice of meats or veggie style if you prefer. They prepare the burrito right in front you and you can choose your ingredients. Burritos are big and will fill you up. They make their own salsa which is quite tasty. Nice wide open canteen atmosphere and very friendly staff! Definitely worth a stop.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pauleE838ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Your burrito is prepared right infront of you. The food tastes fresh and authentic and there is a canteen vibe. Definitely worth getting extra avocado.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank hadrinscheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

I had a burrito with steak which was just average. The ingredients seemed to be all fresh but the steak was marbled. My friend took the same burrito with a different salsa and we couldn’t taste much difference.

Service was good and quick and the place was clean.
Overall average Mexican fast food for an reasonable price.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flo294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salsa Shop also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Salsa Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing