We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - super convenient!”
Review of Nemo Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nemo Apartments
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed in the Gold appartment and we all thought it was brilliant. It was 5 min walk from the station and 5 min into town so super convenient for heading into the red light district / main squares. A little further to the clubs but still easy walking distance. The apartment was really nice, clean and well furnished with everything that we needed to cook with and a decent TV with English channels (great for hungover mornings). We were on the top floor so there were a few stairs to climb but great views over the roof tops of Amsterdam! There were 4 of us and it was very spacious. The owners were really nice and helpful. I've stayed in Amsterdam a couple of times before in hotels and this was so much better. I think you would struggle to find somewhere better and more central for the same price.

Room Tip: The Gold room is very spacious and has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

First of all, owner Katie was so friendly and warm. She gave all information when we are entering the our apartment. Apartment was really tidy and so comfortable. It is in five minutes walk to city center. We walked everywhere in 5 minutes. I advice this apartment to everyone, i understood that why this hostel has got a %90 or more rating.
Thank you Katie :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aytunc O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

i"ll start with the compliments: the room we had (apartment Navy) was very clean and tidy, beds were fine, a good gas-cooker, microwave, tea\coffee and a small but good sized fridge, good tv and dvd.

for the smoking traveler, this place has some extra goodies to offer: 1) they have a PS3 on demand which they don't advertise enough, in my opinion. the TV is small but very good quality and Full-HD which takes full advantage of the PS3 (and you can also bring a USB stick and watch movies with it). 2) there is smoking paraphernalia in the apartment for your use, and we also got a small treat...

now to the review itself:
they have 2 buildings, my review is only relevant to the apartment we stayed at, which is advertised as located on Prins Hendrikadde 133. turns out that the address is not the address of the apartment but the "office" or something. the apartment is just next to the office, on Schipperstraat.
the location is good but not superb. it's close enough to the central station (10 mins) and a short walk from Nieuwmarket (10 mins) but we found it a bit removed from the center.

katja, the woman with whom i made the reservation was extremely nice and helpful and she responded to my emails and many questions quickly. rose, the apartment manager, was also nice and efficient.
there are very reasonable house-rules but they are phrased in a way that makes you fell like you'll be fined for almost anything. it's just a matter of the way things are presented and we felt to do what we wanted and got no comlpaints.

the only real downside to the apartment was the sofa. we had to turn it around to face the tv, which made the "living room" quite small. but that's really ok. the problem was that it was impossible to lean back because the back-rest (a big long pillow) was too short and fell off. after some elaborate engineering we found a solution: we opened the sofa (its a sofa-bed) half way and got a great sofa with a good back-rest.

one more thing - Navy is located at the very top of the house. there are a gazillion (67 to be exact) steps which start out ok but become very steep in the end. this is common in amsterdam but i think this set of stairs is the steepest i've ever seen. it makes going in and out of the apartment several times a day a bit of a challenge.

to conclude - for anyone who plans a trip to amsterdam and requires a clean, pleasant apartment but also intends to smoke, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank he_who_is_he
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The Apartment was just what we expected, nothing more nothing less... We did have a problem with the "noise" and "leaving lights on when gone." Although we were out of the Apartment most of the time Katie the woman who runs the NIEUWE HERENGRACHT 181 location is a bit overbearing about the noise and lights situation... 1st of all we're walking into a place in which we don't know, therefore I would prefer a light or 2 being on when returning to the apartment after a long night of drinking and partying... 2nd the Noise level wasn't all that bad to us... There were times in which we were "whispering" and she found problems with our level.... I understand that she has a business to run and the question is at which will she sacrifice business for what she thinks is a good living quality.... I also understand that their Niche customers are primarily smokers... well me and my friends didn't smoke.. all we were there for was drinking and partying so perhaps we didn't fit their niche customers... Also Be prepared they WILL enter your room/apartment when you're not there which I found was inappropriate, as we paid for this space and it's not their position to enter it without our permission. It was better for us because it was an apartment but beware you Must be Super quite and not leave lights on and deal with her runaway cats.... Again.... If you're a smoker chill type of group then this is the place for you, but if you're vacationing with friends who love to laugh and have fun... then look for somewhere else... Katie is not the most tolerable person!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flyhighguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nemoapartments, Owner at Nemo Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

As the owner, I find myself defending my good name to a review from a customer who thought they could do whatever they want , since they have rented a room in my guest house .
Nemo apartments has house rules and 95% of all our guests have no problems with the rules .
I do all I can to ensure a quality stay for All of my guests .


Kate
Nemo apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Beds very uncomfortable, location good except for constant sirens due to major hospital and police station next door!!
Kate seemed very nice to begin with but then turned bit crazy due to people talking to each other in our apartment before 10am!!
Very very hot in rooms with no option to open window either.
Not too cheap either considering 6 of us squeezed into apartment on fold out beds at a cost of €155 per person for 3 nights!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdugg112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nemoapartments, Owner at Nemo Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

As the owner/manager I feel this review was only half the story and I need to respond to a couple of things .
Firstly this reservation was originally for 2 apartments and 8 people but 2 days before arrival the customer asked if we could change his booking because 2 people could not make it and if there was a cheaper option , so we accommodated 6 people in a 5 person apartment at a discounted rate . We apologize that the folding beds were not that comfortable . . As far as the group being loud , they were yelling and screaming and slamming doors like they were the only people in the building .
We are a service orientated Guesthouse and do work very hard to ensure the comfort of all our guests .

Kate
Nemo apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#202 of 375 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#97 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,064 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,341 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nemo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nemo Apartments

Address: PrinsHendrikkade 133, 1011 AR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: €60 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nemo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nemo Apartments offers its guests comfortable and clean rooms in a beautiful property close to Central station and the Red light district. Each apartment has a bedroom and a private bathroom. The kitchen is equipped with all the essentials for the stay (crockery, cutlery etc) so guests can use the kitchen to cook but need to leave it clean and tidy. A free wireless internet connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Nemo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nemo Apartments Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing