We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but nil security”
Review of Hotel Croydon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Croydon
Ranked #350 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Great location as it's right in the red light district however the rooms are quite noisy because of this. Warning to guests - do not leave anything in the lockers. During our stay our stuff was stolen from our locker and the guest who stole it still had a key for the room. Reception is located in the back of a waffle shop and the front door is often open so people come and go freely from the hostel. The place is a bit noisy and dirty - we found a centipede in our room. Fine for a cheap bed but not much else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linhbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Croydon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

we paid £16 a night and the room was basic. two sets of bunk bed, four lockers, a widescreen tv, sink with toilet and shower next door. no breakfast included but we guessed that for the price. it was right in the heart of Amsterdam, about 2-3 minute walk to RDL but no noise from outside. basic, beds were comfy, but wear your shoes to the bathroom because once someone's had a shower the floor remains very wet in there! would go there again possibly, depending on what else we could find first!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwards_karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed in this hostel last week for three nights, and was quite concerned after reading the reviews before travelling. We stayed in a room for 4 at the back of the hostel and on the first floor. The steps were steep to here, and looked really narrow and steep up to the higher floors. But this is just what the stairs are like in the older buildings in Amsterdam, so I don't think there's much that can be done about it. Despite being right in the heart of the city centre, the room we had was quiet at night and we all slept well. The beds were fairly comfortable, although with an odd selection of bedding - I had a sheet and a duvet, while another member of the party just had a thick blanket. The bathrooms were clean and tidy whenever we used them.

The staff we spoke to were pretty friendly, and the waffles downstairs were great. It wasn't a luxury stay, but what can you expect when you pay like £16 a night for city centre accommodation! It was great to be so close to the Centraal Station and Dam Square.

Room Tip: Room 5A was really quiet at night.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welsh_bookworn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I think most of the other comments on here are a bit unfair. The place is ok, nothing special, but that's what you'd expect for a hostel. The location is good, just down the road from Dam square and the main red light district. The beds are comfy, bathroom was clean.

The stairs are really steep, but this is like how most of the buildings in Amsterdam are built, but is manageable.

There weren't any rats, however there does seem to be a mice problem.

I'd advise people to take their own sheets as there was some specks of blood on the sheets provided.

All in all it's a good cheap place to stay, it's very basic but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianholloway2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I laughed off the reviews about the stairs before booking, but they really are hilariously life-threatening. When I stayed they had actually removed the banisters to redecorate which made getting up to the room a commerically viable basis for a TV gameshow survivor-challenge. That aside, this is easily the worst hostel I stayed in over the course of a month trip round Europe. It doesn't even look like a legitimate business, their office is in the back of a waffle shop next door - you have to walk past customers eating to reach their reception! You a greeted with 'NO REFUNDS' signs plastered all over the walls, not surprising because I am sure they are asked about it regularly.

My belongings were actually nibbled on by mice/rats during my 2 night stay, a suspicion confirmed by the rat traps we found under all the beds in our room. If you smoke you need to be buzzed in and out for a cigarette due to a ridiculous front door system. We always returned to find our bedroom unlocked again, the bathrooms are pretty grim and shared between too many people, the staff obviously hate you, the whole place is disgustingly dirty and badly furnished, it smells awful all the time and unsettling cameras everywhere make you feel very self-conscious. You will not get any sleep whatsoever due to the noise coming from both in- and outside of the hostel - but on the plus side this is because its located in the middle of the red light district (maybe a minus depending on the kind of trip you want).

Its not even very cheap, certainly not cheap enough to justify choosing this hostel over any other. If it will cost you €5 more to stay elsewhere just do it. The only reason to go is for character strengthening or to test your moral fibre. At least, like other reviewers, I too was pleasantly surprised to find I hadn't been murdered by the end of my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 371 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#329 of 371 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#162 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#293 of 371 in Amsterdam
728 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#233 of 371 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#312 of 371 in Amsterdam
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Address: Warmoes Straat 75, 1012 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: €33 - €193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Croydon Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing