We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel The Crown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$287
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel V Nesplein(Amsterdam)
US$346
US$312
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
US$370
US$350
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$556
US$442
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$352
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$247
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Toren(Amsterdam)
US$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$251
US$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$307
US$275
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
26
56
62
34
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
56
62
34
61
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Please, please do not be tempted to stay in this hotel. The room strongly stank from some unknown cause - not cigarette smoke. Our twin-room was very small and ultra basic - just two beds, some shelves and a basin. No bathroom, no tea/coffee making, no phone, no TV, nothing. There was a small upholstered footstool that was heavily stained and filthy. The carpet was very badly stained and we suspected that was where the smell came from. No chairs or desk. The 'free wifi throughout' did not work in our room. I can honestly say this is worst hotel room I have ever seen or been in.

The two staff guys were rude, abrupt, cocky and arrogant. The whole place had a distinctly dodgy and unsafe feel about it. We could not have gone out and left anything of value in our room.

Even though we had paid, after an hour we walked out and booked in at a decent hotel. There was no way we could gave slept in that place. Totally disgusting.

Room Tip: There is no good room.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwicj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Laast minute decision to visit Amsterdam over the Easter weekend end me up here. Except for a very helpful and friendly guy at reception there was actually nothing positive regarding the hotel. It is a shared toilet but at least a shower in the room. The light in the shower was working but some cold water was dripping through the ceiling. I was to scared to switch it on. The floors are creaking and you can hear your neighbours talking clearly. No soap in the dispensers.

Room Tip: room wifi didn't work
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WikkieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Our first time in Amsterdam and we drove from Germany. Amsterdam is very difficult to drive in as they are a very bike/pedestrian friendly city. As such, lots of the very narrow streets have bollards to stop cars using them. Because of this, when we arrived at about 2pm we called the hotel to get directions, only for the call to go straight to voicemail. We tried, repeatedly 8 times over the next hour. Each time the call went to voicemail. After repeatedly trying to get access to the property, we finally gave up and went to the Radisson.

We tried again the following day, and again the day after, and every time without exception, the calls were immediately directed to VM. I have emailed them which has again been ignored. I now find that they have charged us. We made every effort to contact them and find the property so I find it incredibly rude to charge me when they could not be bothered to answer the phone or emails.

If you are looking for a good hotel in Amsterdam, this is not it.

In the hotel industry, the customer isn't necessarily always right, but you can at least have the decency to actually respond.

Room Tip: Book any other hotel
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tim_foster5mpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
121
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Simple place in a very central area. We stayed here for one night only. We just needed a place to crash. The staff was unpleasant, almost rude. Our room shared shower and toilet with another room. But it was cheap and very central.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

As budget hotels go, and I've stayed in several in Amsterdam, I seen absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel. Location couldn't be better, facing the Old Church, right on the doorstep of the Red Light District, 1-2 minutes walk from all bars in the area. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful. The lobby area looked like it had been recently renovated, as did the entrance. The room was clean and reasonably spacious, nothing at all wrong with it for the price paid. Had a private shower, but shared toilet in the hall. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews