We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, pleasantly furnished room with nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Truelove Guesthouse
Ranked #132 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well located, pleasantly furnished room with nice view”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I stayed at the Herengracht room for one night on a recent business trip to Amsterdam. I arrived at the antique shop and was given the key and directions to the room (and an offer to take me there), and paid in cash as requested.
The room is ground floor, overlooking the Herengracht, at the edge of the city centre. Close by are restaurants, bars, bakeries and other shops, and the area generally seems very pleasant.
From here it is a 10 minute walk to the Central Station, city centre, and the red light district, so convenient for travel, shopping, bars & restaurants, and "nightlife". Buses and trams operate close by.
A very good alternative to an hotel room. I would use it again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbb451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    92
    38
    36
    35
See reviews for
9
164
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here at the end of January on a short three night trip. Since the guesthouse rooms are based all over the neighbourhood there is no guarantee over which room you will get but we got one that was on the top floor and very near to the train station. The room was nice and clean and the wifi was good, there were clean towels when we arrived, a hairdryer and a fridge with tea and coffee facilities. The only downfall was that the bathroom didn't have a door on it however you could use the separate toilet door to mostly cover up your modesty whilst you were showering!

I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend it to all as a decent and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickjamesknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Truelove Guest House in January, booking a double room for 3 nights. This room was actually at the Antique shop address, directly above on the 1st floor – accessed by a separate door.
A reasonable sized room, double bed, modern bathroom and separate loo, small fridge, Tea & Coffee making facilities. Everything was in good condition and very clean. Having WiFi was also very handy.
The room has a nice large window the entire length, which overlooks the street. Might be some street noise at night, but we didn’t notice it. Central heating was also very good.
The guy who met us and showed us to the room was friendly and helpful. They are very strict about not smoking in the rooms, which is definitely fair enough but worth noting if you’re a smoker.
As with most old buildings in Amsterdam the staircase is very steep and narrow, I wouldn’t like to try lugging a 30kg suitcase up one!
Jordaan is a really nice area, a short 10min walk to the main shopping street & the train station. We paid around 230 euro for the 3 nights including city tax which I think was good value for Amsterdam.
Breakfast not included, but there’s and endless amount of cafes, including one directly across the road & another next door!
Hope that’s helpful – enjoy your stay in Amsterdam!
PS. Visit the Brouwerijhetij Brewery while you’re there!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA, Memphis, TN
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I had one night in Amsterdam, Jan 3rd 2011, so we could catch our flight the next day. It was very last minute and we called the owners Paul and Sean the night before and they were so gracious and nice. We met them at the antique store and he walked us over to our cute little place (only 65 euro) all the way he told us about the neighborhood and some of its history, asked what type food we liked and told us where to find that kind of restaurant, also told us about the stores, churches, museums and just about anything thing we needed to know!!!
We stayed in the building on Binnen Vissor stratt 2nd floor. It had coffee, tea a little fridge. Important to me, blow dryer and an iron! a great shower/tub and a cute cubbyhole bed. LOVED it and the owners, would stay there again. Very near great Thai place (Thai & Co) wine store (Grape District) They have a lot of places around town and I am willing to bet all of them are worth the stay! Don't miss out on this one!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idontwannagohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Apartment is not at No4 Prinsenstraat as advertised - it is positioned across the street from the Guesthouse and above a noisy bar with a 4am licence - so beware - the bar was either empty in the early evening and quiet but the music is cranked up as the punters arrive. Although the apartment is postioned on the 2nd and 3rd Floors with the bar on the ground floor at street level the bass beat from the music reaches the apartment making it difficult to sleep until the bar closes - so beware - even party people need to sleep !!. The apartment is reached by two sets of narrow steep sets of stairs -so if you have stayed in this area before you will be aware - there are no windows on the stairs and not all the lights were working until we asking for this to be sorted. The "caretaker" was very polite but quite ineffective when a short list of niggles were pointed out - these niggles should not have arisen and were never addressed. There were no mirrors in either bathroom - so take your own !!. There are two good sized double bedrooms - clean, modern and spacious - each with walk-in showers. However the bedroom at the back of the apartment has the added late night noise feature. The apartment is very spacious with a well equiped open-plan kitchen,
There is a small outside decked area which you can walk onto - a nice added extra in the heart of this great city.
The location of this apartment is perfect for a stay in the city - everywhere is walkable - the Jordaan in one direction, Dam Sqaure in the other - you get it. It is also an easy short walk from Central Station coming in from the airport. The are some great restaurants close by - a great cafe for a quick breakfast opposite and of course the bar downstairs !!. If you are a "if you can't beat 'em - join 'em " sort and can cope with the bar noise this is a good option.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#175 of 367 in Amsterdam
442 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#128 of 367 in Amsterdam
869 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Chariot Amsterdam - canal apartment
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Yays Oostenburgergracht Concierged Boutique Apartments
Centrum
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments Amsterdam Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truelove Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truelove Guesthouse

Property: Truelove Guesthouse
Address: Prinsenstraat 4, 1015 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Truelove Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truelove Antique and Guesthouse is located in the heart of the historic centre of Amsterdam, called Jordaan. All rooms and apartments have private en-suite bathroom and toilet, fridge, tv and free coffee and tea facilities. Truelove is just 7 minutes walk from the central train station and just minutes walk to Dam Square, the royal palace, Ann Frank House, local out door day markets and all major tourist attractions and night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Truelove Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truelove Guesthouse Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing