We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
250
29
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
29
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terraceevery morningfresh bread deliveredsteep stairsroom fridgehelpful hoststravel lighthired bikesb and bterrific locationbreakfast was deliciousthree nightsmuseum squaresliced meatsjordaan areanespresso machinebed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Before our trip, Odette communicated well and gave good directions for arrival. When we were delayed Fons welcomed us late at night and showed us around the apartment.
A good night's sleep in the comfy bed and warm pain as chocolat for breakfast the first morning set us up for a great stay, despite our luggage being lost.
The apartment was comfortable and well located to walk to all the attractions we wanted to see.
Fons and Odette went out of their way to assist us be reunited with our luggage. Much appreciated.
Thank You
Heather and Jim

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odette O, Eigenaar at Bed & Breakfast Helmers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We enjoyed having you visit with us, and I am happy you can now continue your trip with all you luggage. Have a great time and thanks again! Odette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

I would highly recommend staying here as it provides a unique experience of Amsterdam. It is situated a bit outside the main tourist hub so you get to experience the city more as a local, but close enough to walk/bike to the main attractions.

The room is very comfortable and clean. The shower is amazing with great water pressure and very modern. The kitchenette is a nice touch as it comes fully stocked with breakfast items, a kettle and 'pod' coffee machine. You really don't need to leave the B&B in the morning to figure out breakfast which saves a lot of time and wondering where to go. You really get to have a leisurely morning. The fresh bread delivered daily outside your door provides a quaint experience ( I mean who doesn't like freshly baked bread that you don't even have to go out and get!). It's perfect for making sandwiches in the morning with the provided meats, cheese, etc. There are also eggs if you want to fry them up using the kitchenette or have yogurt, jams, peanut butter, etc.

The bed is comfortable and the closet space comes in handy. There is also a functioning AC in the room which is perfect if you are coming in the summer. However, you can also open the windows for a nice breeze and soak up the sights and sounds of the city.

I'd highly recommend going to the roof top terrace where you can get a great view of the city and in the spring/summer see the flowers planted on the roof top. It's usually unoccupied so it's like you have your own huge private balcony.

Above all, the best feature are the hosts. Odette is extremely personable and welcoming. Before we arrived, Odette provided us an email explaining how to get to the B&B from the airport which made it extremely easy. She also asked if we had any dietary restrictions and had no problem fulfilling our lactose free request. Upon arrival, Odette took the time to show us around the B&B, answer any questions, and provide us recommendations on things to do/places to eat. She even provided a map and circled these things to make it easier for us. She did not rush us at all and you could tell she just wanted us to have an amazing trip. She even recommended a bike rental company nearby and told us why we should go with them. Later on in our stay, we requested some information about good day trips outside of amsterdam and she promptly replied with her recommendations and how to go about going to these places. Odette made our stay special and is one of the top reasons I would come back!

For our standard room, it was a bit challenging to find space to put our suitcases. Keep in mind, there are 4 flights of stairs to climb so I'd recommend packing light! We had two huge suitcases so it was quite tiring taking both up and then down again when we left. But it was nice in a way to see how people live in Amsterdam and has it's own charm.

Overall though, I'd highly recommend staying at B&B Helmers for top notch accommodations, personalized hospitable service and a chance to stay in an unique neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Go to the roof top terrace; Pack light,
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odette O, Eigenaar at Bed & Breakfast Helmers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you Michael for your detailed an comprehensive review. We enjoyed meeting you both and it was a pleasure to welcome you at our B&B. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our recommendations and had a lovely time in Amsterdam. Odette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The room was nice and well equipped with all the necessary things to ensure great accommodation. The location is good, close to the museum square and to the canals with tram stops nearby. You can go anywhere from there.
The included breakfast was also great, very fresh and varied. The croissants were delicious !! ... it tastes like heaven.
But besides the accommodation, I think the hosts made the difference... very friendly and helpful. Odette explained to us the main attractions and give us helpful tips from the beginning. Always very attentive to details.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odette O, Eigenaar at Bed & Breakfast Helmers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you too Ana for your kind review. We appreciate you chose to stay with us and hope next time you will choose us again! Kindest regards, Odette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The accompaniment before and during our stay was very good. All the necessary details were sent to reach the accommodation easily.
When we arrived we were given a good overview of the city and its main points of interest as well as some tips we took and for which we are grateful.
Breakfast was also very nice with fresh bread each day. The croissant's were simply delicious!!
The hostess was five stars and very attentive.
It's definitely a great place and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasco_Vieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odette O, Eigenaar at Bed & Breakfast Helmers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you so much for writing a review and letting us know how you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate it and it was a real pleasure meeting you both. Thank you, Odette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time staying at the B n B. Fons and Odette gave us great recommendations regarding places to eat, drink and how best to get about during our stay. The breakfast provided was wonderful and the room was lovely. We enjoyed a few drinks on the roof terrace as well as in the cafe below the b n b. Would highly recommend staying here again. Thank you Fons and Odette x

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews