We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would give this 6 stars if i could!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Ranked #8 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2017

It's just amazing, this is how B&B's should be! Right from the start to the finish we were very well looked after and felt right at home. We were welcomed by the lovely Melissa, our flights were delayed and we arrived quite late but this wasn't a problem.

There's fresh bread delivered to your door and a whole host of snacks and food in the fridge for you to enjoy over your stay. It's in the ideal location to explore the city but not be too close to all the noise. We hired bikes from across the road as well as caught the very conveniently placed tram into the city which takes no longer than 10/15 minutes. Otherwise it's a 25 minute walk which is lovely in the morning - or at night! The Vondelpark is very close and perfect if you enjoy running, there's a whole hive of activity going on over there!

I could write for days on how good this place is but you must check it out yourselves, you wont be disappointed! The roof top terrace is perfect for enjoying a beer in the evening! We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Enjoy your fresh bread on the roof top terrace, black bikes rental are great if you need a bike!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBear90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odette O, Eigenaar at Bed & Breakfast Helmers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review, and I am so happy Melissa helped make your stay so lovely. Hopefully we can welcome you another time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Before our trip, Odette communicated well and gave good directions for arrival. When we were delayed Fons welcomed us late at night and showed us around the apartment.
A good night's sleep in the comfy bed and warm pain as chocolat for breakfast the first morning set us up for a great stay, despite our luggage being lost.
The apartment was comfortable and well located to walk to all the attractions we wanted to see.
Fons and Odette went out of their way to assist us be reunited with our luggage. Much appreciated.
Thank You
Heather and Jim

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odette O, Eigenaar at Bed & Breakfast Helmers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We enjoyed having you visit with us, and I am happy you can now continue your trip with all you luggage. Have a great time and thanks again! Odette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

I would highly recommend staying here as it provides a unique experience of Amsterdam. It is situated a bit outside the main tourist hub so you get to experience the city more as a local, but close enough to walk/bike to the main attractions.

The room is very comfortable and clean. The shower is amazing with great water pressure and very modern. The kitchenette is a nice touch as it comes fully stocked with breakfast items, a kettle and 'pod' coffee machine. You really don't need to leave the B&B in the morning to figure out breakfast which saves a lot of time and wondering where to go. You really get to have a leisurely morning. The fresh bread delivered daily outside your door provides a quaint experience ( I mean who doesn't like freshly baked bread that you don't even have to go out and get!). It's perfect for making sandwiches in the morning with the provided meats, cheese, etc. There are also eggs if you want to fry them up using the kitchenette or have yogurt, jams, peanut butter, etc.

The bed is comfortable and the closet space comes in handy. There is also a functioning AC in the room which is perfect if you are coming in the summer. However, you can also open the windows for a nice breeze and soak up the sights and sounds of the city.

I'd highly recommend going to the roof top terrace where you can get a great view of the city and in the spring/summer see the flowers planted on the roof top. It's usually unoccupied so it's like you have your own huge private balcony.

Above all, the best feature are the hosts. Odette is extremely personable and welcoming. Before we arrived, Odette provided us an email explaining how to get to the B&B from the airport which made it extremely easy. She also asked if we had any dietary restrictions and had no problem fulfilling our lactose free request. Upon arrival, Odette took the time to show us around the B&B, answer any questions, and provide us recommendations on things to do/places to eat. She even provided a map and circled these things to make it easier for us. She did not rush us at all and you could tell she just wanted us to have an amazing trip. She even recommended a bike rental company nearby and told us why we should go with them. Later on in our stay, we requested some information about good day trips outside of amsterdam and she promptly replied with her recommendations and how to go about going to these places. Odette made our stay special and is one of the top reasons I would come back!

For our standard room, it was a bit challenging to find space to put our suitcases. Keep in mind, there are 4 flights of stairs to climb so I'd recommend packing light! We had two huge suitcases so it was quite tiring taking both up and then down again when we left. But it was nice in a way to see how people live in Amsterdam and has it's own charm.

Overall though, I'd highly recommend staying at B&B Helmers for top notch accommodations, personalized hospitable service and a chance to stay in an unique neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Go to the roof top terrace; Pack light,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odette O, Eigenaar at Bed & Breakfast Helmers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you Michael for your detailed an comprehensive review. We enjoyed meeting you both and it was a pleasure to welcome you at our B&B. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our recommendations and had a lovely time in Amsterdam. Odette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The room was nice and well equipped with all the necessary things to ensure great accommodation. The location is good, close to the museum square and to the canals with tram stops nearby. You can go anywhere from there.
The included breakfast was also great, very fresh and varied. The croissants were delicious !! ... it tastes like heaven.
But besides the accommodation, I think the hosts made the difference... very friendly and helpful. Odette explained to us the main attractions and give us helpful tips from the beginning. Always very attentive to details.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odette O, Eigenaar at Bed & Breakfast Helmers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you too Ana for your kind review. We appreciate you chose to stay with us and hope next time you will choose us again! Kindest regards, Odette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The accompaniment before and during our stay was very good. All the necessary details were sent to reach the accommodation easily.
When we arrived we were given a good overview of the city and its main points of interest as well as some tips we took and for which we are grateful.
Breakfast was also very nice with fresh bread each day. The croissant's were simply delicious!!
The hostess was five stars and very attentive.
It's definitely a great place and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasco_Vieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odette O, Eigenaar at Bed & Breakfast Helmers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you so much for writing a review and letting us know how you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate it and it was a real pleasure meeting you both. Thank you, Odette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
928 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#4 of 338 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Helmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Helmers

Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 59III | 1054 BT, 1054 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: €99 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Helmers is a family friendly B&B in one of the most popular areas of Amsterdam "Oud West." The B&B is in walking distance of the most interesting sights in Amsterdam, such as the Museum District, The Jordaan, the Canals, Leidse Square & the Vondelpark. All rooms have been decorated in a traditional Dutch style with a modern twist and include private bathrooms and a fully stocked kitchenette to allow you to prepare breakfast at your own leisure. As your hosts we look forward to providing you with a unique experience where comfort & luxury is complemented with personal attention & service. As your hosts we look forward to giving you our 'insider tips' on sights, activities and restaurants so you can experience the city as a local. Rates:Double Occupancy: from 110,- euro per night Single Occupancy: from 100,- euro per night*All rates are including breakfast and 5% tourist tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Helmers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing