We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor staff”
Review of Metropolitan

Metropolitan
Ranked #6 of 165 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Metropolitan: chocolate heaven in the heart of Amsterdam Since 2009, our family-owned business offers the best chocolate of the world, exceptional flavours of gelato and fresh Italian coffee. Master pastry chef and chocolatier Kees Raat, writer of the award-winning book ‘Ice Time’, prepares irresistible creations from honest, organic ingredients. Chocolate ‘from bean to bar’, brownies, mud cake, hot chocolate, macarons, praline and merenques. Hard to choose? Indulge in an ice tasting or chocolate tasting (including sniffing of cocoa!). From chocolate breakfast to dessert: open from 9 am – 10 pm.
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Passed by the metropolitan while hanging out for a quick dessert and chose to have a fruit stick dipped in white chocolate... the staff gave me fruit stick dipped in dark chocolate. When i reminded her that my order was white and not dark her eye almost teared as if i was gonna make her pay for her mistake from her money...

Thank EZ_Leb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan S, Manager at Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

First of all, thank you for your review.
Second, we are really sad to hear about your experience.
Of course their can be a misunderstanding, but this shoudn't result in wrong behaviour.
We hope you got your right fruitstick and that their wasn't a further problem.
Again we are sad to hear this, but I don't think it's an entire reflection about our whole staff.

We hope to welcome you again in the future and hopefully you'll have a better experience!!

Kind regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

We happened upon the Metropolitan in Amsterdam and I couldn't help but spurge. They offer typical dutch waffles, pancakes, poffriches in addition to amazing gelato and international pastries. I loved my cannoli, Gin Tonic sorbet, coffee, and Dutch apple pie. Good luck with self control once you are inside;)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan S, Manager at Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

haha thank you for this review!

We always hope that people lose their self-control in the store ;)
It's nice to hear such wonderfull words about our products and store.
That always makes us happy.

We hope to welcome you again in the future and that you can indulge in our sweet sweet store again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Love this place, it is unique and has a great variety of healthy options, as well as lots of delicious sweet options. Will definitely return!

Thank Kathryn654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan S, Manager at Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you so much for this review.

We always try to innovate in our products, so healthy (but still delicious) choices are one of them. It's nice to see that this is appreciated!

We hope to see you soon when you return and to make you happy again with our sweets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We were in a low budget but this place is worth spending some money. They have a variety of fruits and chocolates in every kind and form. Very good coffee also. Good quality and better service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Montse_depe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan S, Manager at Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for this nice review and the lovely words!
We are always happy when customers like our products and service.
We hope to welcome you again in the future sometimes because our chocolate is missing you ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We started at the terrace, but we got hungry. The restaurant looked quite cozy, that's why we decided to eat here. There was enough choice on the menu. We had the burrata, vegan steak, salmon burger, some truffle fries with parmezan and roasted veggie. The food was nice! Little bit expensive for what you get though.

Thank Angieee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan S, Manager at Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Angie,

Thank you for this review!
The only thing is that you got the wrong store, we are Metropolitan and the restaurant where u were is Metropolitain. I know, almost the same ;)

Maybe we can welcome you in Metropolitan one time and you can enjoy our delicious desserts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metropolitan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing