We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chocolate cake!!!”
Review of Metropolitan

Metropolitan
Ranked #4 of 153 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Metropolitan: chocolate heaven in the heart of Amsterdam Since 2009, our family-owned business offers the best chocolate of the world, exceptional flavours of gelato and fresh Italian coffee. Master pastry chef and chocolatier Kees Raat, writer of the award-winning book ‘Ice Time’, prepares irresistible creations from honest, organic ingredients. Chocolate ‘from bean to bar’, brownies, mud cake, hot chocolate, macarons, praline and merenques. Hard to choose? Indulge in an ice tasting or chocolate tasting (including sniffing of cocoa!). From chocolate breakfast to dessert: open from 9 am – 10 pm.
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

We went in Amsterdam for a Journey and We discovered this local in a street behind our apartment. We had had breakfast every day with their chocolate cake, Red velvet cake, both of them topped with a home made Nutella (avaible also a White Nutella), coffe (espresso is very similar to italian taste), truffles (little pieces of dark chocolate that wrapped a sort of ice cream/White chocolate cream). I also bought some danish cookies to bring them here in Italy. Incredible taste and quality!

1  Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees R, Manager at Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Hi Daniela,
Thank you very much for leaving your review. We are happy to hear that you've enjoyed your visit with us!
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Nice bright Cafe on cold and wet day. Beautiful croissants and great coffee. Friendly staff a large range of Cafe foods including waffles, meringues gelato.

Thank Simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees R, Eigenaar at Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thanks Simon! We love making a cold and wet day brighter ;-)
Hope to see you on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

On researching my recent trip to Amsterdam, I found a review for metropolitan and decided this would be well worth a visit. What can I say?It exceeded my expectations and more! Amsterdam is full of bakeries, cafe's and dessert shops selling all kinds of sweet treats, but this is definitely one of the best. I highly recommend the White chocolate waffle with strawberries, so good I went back three times for more! I will absolutely be back on my next visit to Amsterdam :-)

Thank PStonex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees R, Eigenaar at Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thankyou for your kind message! This kind of feedback is what we love to hear. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

incredible gelato, chocolates, and more. but the best play here is to get a waffle covered in dark chocolate and fresh berries. i try to make it here a couple times every trip i make to amsterdam.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bkice11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees R, Eigenaar at Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Well that sounds good! Thanks a lot! Hope to see you soon then :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We first entered this place to run from the hordes of tourists near the Red Light District, as well as chain smoking weed fans. It just feels like an oasis of calm and normality.
Everything looks very yummy and one has to resist eating too much sweets and sugar things, but the displays are full of amazing stuff.
We tried several things and all were approved with merit.
The only strange stuff was a small table with powder cocoa to be sniffed! Incredible.
Service is fast but impersonal but you won't regret the experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Polskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kees R, Eigenaar at Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thankyou for your positive feedback. We are glad that you had such a good experience in our shop!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metropolitan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing