We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hostel i have ever stayed in! wouldn't house my dog there!”
Review of White Tulip Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Tulip Hostel
Ranked #180 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
new zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst hostel i have ever stayed in! wouldn't house my dog there!”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had this booked for us through a friend and had no idea what to expect. I have stayed in various hostels before but never one as bad as this! We were on the top floor, which was up 3 flights of stairs which were difficult to get up sober! The rooms smelt, we had a church bell right outside out window which chimed from 7.30 am at various times for most of the morning. There was never any toilet paper in the mornings in ANY of the loos, only in the evenings did you get a glimpse of the stuff!The showers were always flooded, i don't know when they did their cleaning. There wasn't any fresh towels half the time and they just took yours away from your room without asking. The toliets were gross, spew etc.Outside the window was a deck with rubbish and maggots everywhere. The location was right in the red light district so your were close to most things, but it really isn't a nice place to stay at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    82
    111
    57
    100
See reviews for
3
30
70
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Do not, under any circumstances, stay there.
I stayed here with five more friends on a weekend last july.
Before booking we read the reviews at TripAdvisor, and the people seemed to like it, so we decided to stay there.
Location is the only upside. Quite near Dam Square (3 minutes walk) and the Red Light District, with lots of bars. You must be careful at night because it doesn't (and it isn't) feel safe at night.
Anyway, reception staff is terrible, unwilling to help and completely rude.
Our room was smelly and dirty. The bathrooms were terrible, and it was horrible to get there at night and see that someone had always thrown up in the toilets (naturally that is not the hostel's fault).
To make things worse, the hostel is right in the backstreet of the church of the Red Light District. Everyday, from 8 am, the bell sounds every fifteen minutes, so we could not sleep.
We only stayed here because we didn't book in advance, only a few days before our trip, so there were no other hostels available. Because of that, we were also charged a LOT of money. 40 euros a night!
We had a terrible experience at the White Tulip. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the backstreet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcboccardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Just got back from a years travelling finishing off with 1 week at this sh1t hole . I have stayed in all kinds of accommodation across the world with all kinds of colours and cultures had no problems till now ! I stayed in a dorm with a group of lads (I'm guessing a stag do ) and me being white and northern made me a immediate target to the group of southern ghetto types . To be honest me being white seemed to get their backs up ? I accepted them as being gay / trans gender (kinda expected it with it being smack bang in the blue light district home to their types but enough about the room amsterdam itself is stunning and the red distirct is amazing I shagged my silly smoked myself senseless and drank till my liver popped. Amsterdam 10/10 the white tulip as a solo traveler 0/10 stay somewhere else .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northisnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The first thing i will say is that they advertised free breakfast when we booked it, (played a big part in our choice) but this is not the case. Other than that, i thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.
I went with 5 other people, booked into a 12 bed room. Upon arrival we were told that we have been moved to a 6 bed room so had the whole room to ourselves! Beds are clean and relatively comfortable, lockers are provided but padlocks cost 5 euros. We didn't bother with padlocks as we weren't sharing with any strangers.
As we all were travelling on a tight budget, and considering how expensive Amsterdam is for EVERYTHING(can't get a 500ml glass of beer or any fast food for less than 5 euros!) we spent our nights in our room with some bottles and some music playing out of our friends travel speaker. We would have been more considerate with the noise but it seemed that everybody had the same idea as us!
The showers are clean and in cubicles, they even provide soap which is apparently scented 'tricky ricky'?!?!?!
I'd recommend this hostel for party people, stag do's and the like. Definitely not for fussy people looking for a quiet nights sleep.
The staff were generally friendly and helpful, one man even collecting some plastic cups and ice for us from the downstairs bar(they obviously had no problem with us drinking in the room).
Upon arrival you will receive a wristband offering 25% discount at the downstairs bar(Titled 'Slaintes Irish Pub') and 10% off the coffee shop 'Highway' which is just around the corner. The former was very good value for money ONLY with the discount, without it, it is just one of the many rip off tourist traps Amsterdam seems to have in abundance. The latter was ridiculously expensive even with the discount, it's amazing it is still open as similar businesses are open either side of it and are considerably cheaper.

The location is right in the heart of the red light district, a 5 minute walk from the train station, tourist maps are free at reception.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damagerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed here in June for my Brothers Stag-do. The hostel was very good, clean and the staff were helpful.
We had a room which has 12 bunk beds in it, which all were allocated to the stag. The room was very clean and tidy. The beds were surprisingly comfortable too!
The showers and the toilets were cleaned everyday to a very good standard.

The hostel its self was perfectly situated, smack bang in the centre of the red light district, surrounded by bars and restaurants and only a 5 min walk to dam square!!

Amsterdam is a awesome city, very beautiful and i would recommend you visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxy-Worcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#97 of 230 in Amsterdam
443 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Amigo Budget Hostel
#185 of 230 in Amsterdam
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#10 of 230 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Tulip Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Tulip Hostel

Property: White Tulip Hostel
Address: Warmoesstraat 87, 1012 HZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:1 star — White Tulip Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Tulip Hostel is located near everything. We are close to all the major attractions of Amsterdam including the Dam Square, Central Station, coffee shops, Amsterdam's night life, the Flower Market, Madame Tussaud, various museums and much much more! We will be happy to guide you to the most famous places to hang around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your White Tulip Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Tulip Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing