We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for a city break”
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #97 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    498
    115
    20
    17
See reviews for
179
398
49
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Booked this hotel based on excellent reviews in Tripadvisor but, sadly, it didn't quite live up to expectations.

Good points first: the location is great; quiet but well connected, with restaurants and museums within short walking distance and a pretty canal just outside . The hotel and its rooms are clean and functional; the bed was reasonably comfortable.

However, the common areas and dining room have a distinct hostel feel to them. The WiFi isn't great. The breakfast buffet contained a poor selection of cheap products, all of which tasted like something out of an "economy" packet. The luggage storage room wasn't locked and didn't feel secure.

If the Bridge Hotel had been 30-40 per cent less expensive, it would have deserved a 4- or even 5-star rating. However, for EUR130 a night in low season, it simply isn't good enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Isabelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Amsterdam in February can be a cold and uninviting place however the welcome by reception was friendly and helpful. I stayed here last year in ground floor room in the center of the building. This year I had a room overlooking the canal which was very pleasent albeit not the most scenic of views. This hotel is clean and comfortable with good ensuite facilites although the lino floor lets the comfort level slip a little. Nice fresh linen and confortable beds makes it a recommend altough the price for the room was on the high side at €135. My advice is shop around for the best deal.
Breakfast was good although I hate those toast machines which arent set right and give you a slice of limp pale straw coloured cooked bread. No hot food was in evidence on the buffet but a good selection of meats and cheeses etc were on show.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tontotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our family of 2 adults and 3 teenagers stayed in the Bridge Hotel for 4 nights over new year. We had the Amstel Gold apartment, a roomy, homely, lovely 'home' for our 4 nights in Amsterdam. We were close to all metro and tram routes to anywhere we needed to go. on foot it was 15 mins walk to the main shopping area and no more than 30 mins walk to anywhere. There were many nice restaurants nearby.

The living room was spacious, with comfortable furniture including a good sized table for meals and spreading out. The apartment had a separate bedroom and another separate sleeping area, away from the living room, two bathrooms and a completely workable kitchen. The view over the canal was amazing and on New years Eve was a real treat with fireworks galore all over the city skyline. Very comfortable.

Buffet breakfast in the dining room was a great start to the day. The hotel has many rooms but only 2 apartments, both similar I believe. Be advised that there are no lifts so all the luggage had to go up to the 4th floor, but worth it.

Reception staff were very efficient and pleasant and we were able to leave our luggage with them once we had checked out. Can't recommend the apartment highly enough for a place to feel at home, it is not luxurious and the TV's could be updated but after a day beating the pavements in Amsterdam it was great to flop on to the lounge and make yourself a snack and grab a drink from the fridge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuiaba, MT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We'd spent two nights there in a family roon (third floor- no lift). It's a very clean nice room with two large beds, couch and kitchen with microwave and all the kitchenware.
Staffs are friendly and breakfast are very good.
Would come back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CintiaMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#35 of 367 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#50 of 367 in Amsterdam
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#76 of 367 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Property: The Bridge Hotel
Address: Amstel 107 /111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Booking.com so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing