We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Ranked #98 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Very clean hotel, downstairs has a seating area and free coffee and tea.

We stayed in a large vintage room, quite quirky with bats and butterflies painted on the wall. The room had a fantastic view over the canal but was small. However for the rate we paid you cannot complain! Fresh towels every day although the maid tended to come at around 10am and if your having some big nights in amdam like we did, then it's a bit of an unwelcome call!!

The room was very homely though with a nice big radiator that you could switch on whenever you like, it felt like we were staying in someone's house which was really lovely.

Was a very pleasant stay, friendly staff and good location!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelifeholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 505 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

My husband and I ended our European honeymoon in Amsterdam at this hotel. The room was uncomfortably small. The door hit the bed when you opened it. There was very little closet space, it was humid in the room, the bathroom was tiny. It was loud, as well. We could hear people walking in the hallway and opening/shutting doors. Our room was across from the second floor smoking balcony and we could clearly make out the conversations of the balcony's inhabitants all day/night. We picked this hotel because of price and location and we don't regret it. The plus side; customer service was great! They were helpful, kind and professional. My favorite part is the tea/coffee bar that is open all day and night downstairs in the lobby. Considering how cold it was while we were there, it was so nice to come in from site-seeing to make a steamy cup of tea.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We were recommended this hotel by a friend and what a find indeed, the place was great value for money (we paid €75 per night) very central, central station 8 mins walk, Anne Frank and flower Market 10min walk, red light district and dam square 6min walk and jordaan 5 min walk! Area very quite but close to all the main attractions, toast and spreads available self serve in the morning all Inc in price, tea and coffee and free Internet available all day and also free wifi codes available from reception! All trips and bike hire can be organised through reception too! Only downside was our room was very small (although the bed was very comfortable!) but if you are anything like us we don't go on city breaks to spend it in a hotel room but just to lay your head for the night! Also very close to a very trendy coffee shop called amnesia which played some great beats and bob Marley tunes but wasn't too touristy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. To get to it turn left out of the hotel and it's by the 2nd bridge on the same side of the road! All in all a great hotel and great location!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Just got back from 2 night stay- hotels was in ideal position.5 - 10 min walk from everywhere.
Room was a bit small and right up in the rafters but it was very clean and modern. Also very quiet. Cannot comment on the breakfast as we failed to get up either morning. Coffee facilities a nice touch though. The staff were the most friendly i have ever encountered. At 100 eur0s a night i was a bit pricey but unless you want to stay in a dormortory with shared facilities you have to pay a little more ... free internet available in lounge also...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j24681177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The name did describe (mostly) this hotel. Definitely basic; and mostly trying to be chic. We stayed in an 'updated' room, which was small (not much bigger than the bed), but clean and did what it needed to.

Found the sayings on soap, shampoo, room keys, etc. very amusing!

Walking distance from the Central Station was great; we stayed here on the night prior to leaving (via the airport) and it was fast and easy to walk to the station and take a train to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam1am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#22 of 373 in Amsterdam
687 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Bank Hotel
The Bank Hotel
#200 of 373 in Amsterdam
96 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#56 of 373 in Amsterdam
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Canal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Canal District

Address: Herengracht 13 - 19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly chic&basic Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#114 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: €127 - €271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Brown Hotel Canal District 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown is situated in three monumental canal houses with an amazing 300-year old façade, at the corner of Amsterdam's most famous canals: the Herengracht & the Brouwersgracht. You’re in the Urban center from the moment you walk in and collect your room key from the crew behind the impressive bar. You can choose to go straight up to your cosy room or to hangout in Max Brown's Social Space for a while ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Canal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Amsterdam
Chic & Basic Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Chic Basic Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing