We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“007 pringle”
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nadia
Ranked #109 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“007 pringle”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This low cost hotel comes with a 1st class service! Upon arrival me and my friend were greeted very warmly, not only by the hotel receptionist but also by the hotel Owner with a drink of our choice. The Owner is extremly friendly, has lots of witty repartee and you instantly build a rapport and a love for the hotel. To the eye the hotel looks very charming, quaint and traditonal, and whilst the size of the room may come as a bit of a shock at first, it really really does add to the enjoyment of the holiday. The room had fresh flowers, a television, safety deposit box and fridge, with hair dryers and irons available upon request with no charge. All of this is included in the price of your booking! What i was more concerned about was the cleanliness of the room, please rest assured this hotel is clean!!! maid service daily, not a spec of dust, clean bedding and mattress protectors too!

Breakfast is included and also there is a luggae room for the end of your stay if you have a late return flight!!!

location - excellent!!!! public transport is convieniently located just outside the front door and it is exceptionally easy to use, even for me!!! things to see and do around this amazingly interesting and stunning city are in abundance, personal recommendations to the heiniken museum, ann franks house (literally across the road too) and the amsterdam dungeons.

Whilst coming in and out of the hotel i always found a friendly greeting with receptionists constantly checking if there is anything more they can do! They are also local experert with maps and journey planning hints and tips at their disposal to help you get yourself about! throughout.

Checking out - the best checkout experience of any hotel i've been to. Your bags are carried out to the luggage room for you so you don't have to tackle the stairs yourself, but what i found more impressive was the receptionist who dialled the owner for each guest that left to let him know we were leaving, the owner coming to take us for one last farewell drink and a personal good bye! What a touch!

i wasn't expecting much from this hotel, not only did they meet our needs and expectations, they exceeded them.
OO7 PRINGLE - IF YOUR READING THIS, THANK YOU FOR AN AMAZING CHEEKY WEEKEND, I WILL BE BACK FOR MORE OF YOUR BEAUTIFUL CITY SOON!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJA89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,622
    1,618
    500
    135
    76
See reviews for
432
1,880
461
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I can´t recommend this hotel more! When we arrived to check in for six nights, we were offered a drink and comfortably accomodated, there were fresh flowers with a card reading "Have a nice stay" .
Public transport is right outside and employees are extremely kind and helpful

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaEurope2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea,wales,uk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Had read reviews on this hotel so kind of had an idea of what to expect. The steps are steep when you arrive but reception came to collect our bags and checked us in and gave us a welcome drink. The hotel has a lot of character and i like that. It was clean and warm but at times it was too warm, we had the window open in our room to get ready etc. Had flowers in the room once we got there, a nice touch and puts a smile on your face after travelling. The room reminded me of being on a ship. It is small but i found it cosy if not romantic...
The room has everything you need, bed, cupboard, shelves, fridge, telephone, en suite shower n toilet, tv etc/ It was just what we needed. It is basic but its not the Hilton!
It had the added bonus of being near Dam square and the majority of the attractions. Anne Franks house is a 5 min walk around the corner.
The breakfast was very basic and we were not impressed with this. It was literally coffee, tea, orange juice, croissants, cheese, some spreads and crackerbreads and bread oh and some apples! I asked if they had cereal and they didnt. There was a small kitchen in the breakfast room. Surely they could whip up some eggs or something??

We didnt bother with breakfast the rest of the time we were there. On our last day we were leaving early and breakfast was only 7.30-10.30am. When checking in i did ask if we could have breakfast early. The receptionist told me they could arrange it for 7am. He told us to let him know the day before we leave. This seemed reasonable but after seeing the options on day 1 we decided not to bother arranging an early breakfast. However, on our last day whilst getting ready to check out, reception rang us to say that our breakfast was ready. I felt bad having to say we did not want it but we did not confirm to them that we wanted it. The man at reception told us when checking out that he remembered our request and made a note. We apologised and explained we had to leave for the airport. He tried to make us stay but we wanted to get going and we eventually had breakfast at the airport. Ok, we paid for it and should have made the most of it but there really was nothing that could have satisfied us or sustained us throughout the day. Im not talking a full english but something a bit healthier than a croissant or Nutella spread!
I dont really have any negatives on this hotel apart from how hot the room was, nothing that an open window couldnt solve but wouldnt fancy this hotel in the middle of summer! At times you could smell cigarette smoke wafting up the stairs and into your room. Im not a smoker so i instantly smell smoke and it wasnt pleasant.
There was a thick layer of dust on one of the shelves in the room which hadnt just accumulated during our stay. My boyfriend also complained of how noisy the road was which our room was overlooking, but i really didnt notice this and i slept well.
I think the steep steps and no lift would make this the wrong choice for people who are less mobile.
The staff were very friendly and helpfull. All in all a good hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

by the size of the room (small) it soon became amusement. Other reviews have described the hotel as 'quirky' and that is totally accurate.

Staff wonderful, location superb, price excellent.

BUT, once the trams stopped running no noise, no creaking floorboards, no rumbling plumbing.

Would I stay here again? - YES, but the stair warning on the hotel website is not to be ignored.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

When looking for a hotel in Amsterdam for our trip to a show at RAI, we decided on this one due to the price. We didn't even want the continental breakfast but it was included anyway. We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival and were even offered a free welcome drink, nice gesture.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone, apart from those who can't deal with stairs... they are a bit steep but gave the place character.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,002 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#39 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,062 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,193 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,040 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Property: Hotel Nadia
Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing