We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quentin England Hotel
Ranked #324 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good for location”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed 5th Jan - 8th Jan, Down a very quiet street-handy for everything-out on main you have the casino, pubs, hard rock cafe, blue boat bus and vondelpark all with in distance.
Just a little walk to the muiesumplein-get a taxi to anne frank-I had blisters for days.
Just up a bit on main you have all the pubs/clubs-Jimmy Woos was great.
At the most room was ok for stay-yes u can hear everything-stayed in room 203-be warned if staying during week-and you want a lie in-kids nursery out back and u can hear them screaming while out playing, lol
all in all a good trip and room was fine-room was hoovered and cleaned everyday with clean towels

Room Tip: 203 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammied0dger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QH001, Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Hello jammiedodgerScotland

Thanks for choosing the Quentin England hotel for your recent stay in Amsterdam.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, even thought the delicate sound of children from the nearby nursery might have not helped with your lie in.

I am afraid some of our walls are rather thin; this is something we are looking into for the future.

We hope to see you again soon.
Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    120
    174
    91
    145
See reviews for
44
197
61
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Upon arrival..... sheer disappointment, even the shabby outside sign couldnt prepare us for what was ahead. However upon entry we were plesantly surprised with the rustique tables, wooden floors and general ambiance.
We arrived a few hours before checking and so wanted to sore our suitcases. After being issued with the fence post key, my friend kindly took my suitase (being a fine blonde) down the stairs of death and into the dungeon basement, ignoring the suspicious smells.
Having stored our luggage we went out to enjoy the pleasures of the city. We returned to check in and were informed that although we had booked two rooms together we were in fact not going to be neighbours. I was condemmed to the top floor of the left hand side of receiption and my friends the right. Im no bear grylls, but even my friend who's a fireman was out of breath climbing the stairs to hell. Why didnt i take the lift you ask- because they dont have one. Oh and the floors arent linked so to visit my friends room i had to walk all the way down and all the way up again. May i recommend this place as a low class fat camp.

Having reached the summit we opended the gateway to hell!
It soon became apparent there was more DNA in these rooms than the brothels in Amsterdam! Mine came with an interesting patch, i think they must have moved the body a few hours before. I honestly dont know what it was but im sure it hand life in in. My friend saw the upside, 'oh at least youve got a nice big wardrobe' he said. He couldnt have be more wrong... the wardrobe was the bathroom/wetroom/beeding ground for lime disease..
Distraught my friend departed to discover the likes of his room. The only luxuary was the two inch window. It opened but not enought to abort the flithly smell of the DNA in the room. Safety is clearly very important here. My fireman friend soon noticed that a large stripy sock had been placed over the only fire/smoke detection in the room. Stay here at your own peril.

We hired bikes, we went out, partied and enjoyed the city spending nd much time away from armageddon as we could. Our good mood was quickly squashed as soon as we returned to the hotel.We had to shower in the dark as the bulb went, got eletrocuted by the light switch and were constantly examining the red bites over out bodies.

Concerns for our health growing by the hour we finally escaped but not unscathed. We are still discusing the whole experience one month later and are all still very much emotionally affected.

To summerise- If you havent packed your sense of humor, forensic suit and mountaineering equipment, you may not survive to type a review on here

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

It is really dufficult to find cheap hotel in Amsterdam. I was there in November and found only this one less than 80 Euros. My first impression was good, room is quite clean (not enough), but "OK" I wanted only to sleep there. Big surprise was breakfast. It's difficult to name it as breakfast because it's really small... Generally I recommend.

Room Tip: I was only in one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PawelPL1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of December. We were upgraded to a better room on arrival. Room was very spacious. Hotel wad very close to Leidseplein and within walking distance of Vondel Park. Have stayed in this hotel before and would definately stay again. Much better value than the Quentin Hotel in the Leidseplein

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucylujane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

1st, the positive: walking distance from everything. Quiet & safe neighbourhood. Great service at Reception (i.e. a girl from N.Y. who was very helpful with tourist info & breakfast). Breakfast was appropriate for the price.

2nd: NOT so positive: we got room 22. If you get this room, run like hell or demand a different one: NOT 1 single window, not even a ventilation vent in the bathroom. The room is right next to reception, the stairs, and the breakfast area, getting all the possible noise, screaming, etc.. At 4:30 am, someone decided to sing a whole song, to the top of his lungs, and no one in recption seem to see it fit to stop him. In a minor note, the TV in the room was missing all but one of the buttons. To make things better the light switch for the room tripped throughout the night (apparently it happened in several rooms) and we were left in pitch black to find the door, or the bathroom (as there was no source of light whatsoever: no windows). The single beds were tiny, and wobbly, making them unconfortable to sleep in.

In general, location & customer service are the only redeeming features of a horrible sleeping experience. Thankfully we were only staying 1 night. I can assure you I'll be back to Amasterdam, but I can also guarantee it will be to a different hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 22, or any room without windows or close to the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpanishGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#305 of 367 in Amsterdam
646 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#293 of 367 in Amsterdam
480 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#299 of 367 in Amsterdam
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#214 of 367 in Amsterdam
404 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#271 of 367 in Amsterdam
571 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#279 of 367 in Amsterdam
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin England Hotel

Property: Quentin England Hotel
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 30, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Quentin England Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a 18th century building and part of the famous 'United Europe' buildings, this are seven houses and every house is an example of a typical building style from seven European countries (England, France, Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy and Holland). The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Vondelpark, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Maket, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Roemer Visscherstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quentin England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin England Amsterdam
Hotel Quentin England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing