We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #68 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very cool hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Walking distance to Kalverstraat made this hotel ideal for our recent business trip to Amsterdam. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The decor of the lobby area was very contemporary but still welcoming. My single room was on the 5th floor at the front of the building, the living area was a good size as was the bathroom, except for the tiny shower with the ceiling giant rainfall shower head. Fortunately, I did have to wash my hair, but goodness knows how I would have gone if I didn't need too. There is no room to get away from the water. After reading reviews about the noise, I did approach bedtime with some caution, but we were only in town for one night, I thought it would be bearable, because trams and traffic don't really bother me. However, the idiots who continually shouted and tooted car horns from midnight to 6am made my night a challenge. Certainly, if you stay, do take the advice of other reviewers and request a quiet room if you need to sleep. Oh, one last thing, it was cold and rainy on our last day, after shopping I sat in the lobby waiting for my colleagues to return before leaving for the airport. The chairs were comfy, the gas fire warming and the hot chocolate I ordered was one of the best I've had. The Albus will be on our list of possible hotels when we plan our working trip next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juddster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    687
    214
    69
    39
See reviews for
243
896
63
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is new and clean.Its right in the center of everything, so we were able to walk everywhere. There is no Wi-Fi in the rooms. The size of the room we were in was extremely small. We were there in the begining of March and it was freezing in the bathroom when we wanted to take a shower in the morning. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. It was my husbands birthday on the day we arrived to the hotel and when we came back at night after exploring the city there was a complimentary bottle of wine in our room and a card wishing him a Happy Birthday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minga670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I have just return from a few nights in Amsterdam where we stayed at the Albus Hotel. The hotel is lovely, very modern and beautifully decorated, the staff were all very helpful and the food was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good 4* in a central location. We stayed on B&B and the breakfast was good, there was a buffet with a good selection of food from hot breakfast to pastries and fruit, something for everyone. The rooms are quite small but this is to be expected in a city centre location, but very well equipped. We had a room on the 6th floor at the back of the hotel which was very quiet, except a noisy neighbour... but that cant be helped! The bathroom was spacious with a large shower, there was also a safe which is free of charge to use in the room, the coffee machine was a big plus too!
There is a nice wine bar area at the hotel and a restaurant which we didn't actually eat at but the food looked great.
The trams are the best way to travel around the city and there is a stop a minute or so down the road from the hotel and another just round the corner which will take you to pretty much anywhere in the city. The best thing to do it get the train from Schiphol airport for about 8euro per person return and then get a tram pass from the GVB ticket office outside central station, we got a 48hr pass for 24euro. This way you can jump on and off the trams as much as you like during your stay. The staff at the hotel are able to give you tram maps, and also offered to make us any dinner reservations or book excursions for us (At the same price as the shops on the streets which I thought was very handy).

Overall we had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to stay at the Albus again if we decided to return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Albus is in a great location. Come out of the door and turn left to head towards the museum quarter, or go right to head towards the station through main shopping areas. It’s about a 15 walk to the red light district which is close enough for a night out but far enough to know that you’re in a good part of town. The Rembrandt Square is also just 5 minutes away. The staff were very helpful even though our room wasn’t ready for us at 2pm. They stored our bags and gave us a useful map and highlighted the paces to go. The room was a good size although the bed was 2 singles pushed together which left a gap between the mattresses. The wet room was also clean if a little small (and wet). We didn’t try the restaurant but it looked nice and the lobby and bar looked funky. Bit of noise in the room from the trams going by... but you get that on most streets. Great value for the price I paid (around £100 per night).

Room Tip: The higher up the building the further you are from the trams on the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigby79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HASTINGS
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel over New Year for the Rapido Circuit event. The staff were excellent, rooms were pleasant and demonstrated good value for money. There is also regular direct trams to Amsterdam Central Station for Schiphol. The only issue is the cost of the wi fi access and that the wi fi access didnt work in the room which I guess is due to the position of the router.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayChapmanHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,558 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
947 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 364 in Amsterdam
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a, recently renovated, trendy four star Superior design boutique hotel with 75 rooms that is well located within the famous Canal Belt and a short walk from Dam square, Leidse square, Rembrandt square and many well-known museums. Whether you’re in Amsterdam for business or leisure, this hotel is an excellent choice to explore this lively and vibrant city. Experience a service that’s out of the extraordinary and personalized. Provided by the professional yet down-to-earth friendly hotel staff. Each room in the Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre is fully equipped with the newest energy-saving air conditioner system, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, an in-room Nespresso machine with complimentary cups, a safe with laptop charger, free wi-fi, heavenly beds lined with high quality cotton bed linen, luxurious mattresses filled with a combinations of rubber/foam, super snug big pillows for optimum comfort and designer chairs so you can emerge yourself in one. You will feel a sense of bliss when stepping into the gorgeous bathroom. Equipped with a 30 cm rain shower, luxurious toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobe. The sink-module is one of a kind and especially designed for the Albus. This environmentally friendly and Green Key Gold certified hotel provides complimentary, fast and secure wi-fi throughout the hotel to keep your social networks updated or to let you work with no fuss. Start your day with a generous breakfast buffet with a variety of local and organic products. From healthy tidbits like cereals and grains, fresh fruit, soya milk, Dutch treats to homemade pancakes and fried eggs. We serve Fairtrade and UTZ-certified coffee and tea. Don’t leave Amsterdam without having tried the tantalizing creations of Restaurant Senses by Lars Bertelsen. A top-notch restaurant that prepares an unconventional and creative tasting menu. Ingredients are chosen carefully. Daily fresh and sustainable products are being used. Choose from the monthly alternating 3 to 6-course tasting menu for lunch or dinner and embark on your own voyage of discovery. The Albus is easily accessible by public transport, taxi or with your own car. Take tram 16 from Central Station to Keizersgracht. Walk 50 meters back over the bridge. On the right hand you will find The Albus. We provide Valet Parking for €35 a day, every consecutive 24 hours it’s €20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing