We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The smallest room in the world”
Review of Hotel Citadel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Citadel
Ranked #108 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“The smallest room in the world”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The Citadel Hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam, at a walking distance from Central Station. I had booked a single room at a very good price by Internet. As I had asked for a quiet room (only one night for business in Amsterdam), I were warned by the receptionist that, in an effort to satisfy my request, the room allocated to me was small but quiet with a nice view. Everything was exact - small, well very small, probably less than 10 square meter, with a great view over central Amsterdam. I had the strange feeling to sleep in a attic, far from everything. Claustrophib people should avoid such a room, but really it was ok for me.
The breakfast was great, with a huge variety of choice, I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paris-eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    426
    166
    41
    22
See reviews for
104
320
100
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Great location, really central and close to everything. The staff were so helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived. Even though our second floor room faced the main road there was no excessive noise. The twin bedded room was very clean, the beds comfortable and, how nice to have heating you could actually control. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast, great choice of food and drinks. Now we have found this hotel we will not stay anywhere else in Amsterdam and will recommend it to our friends. Once more, a BIG thank you to all the friendly staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing front have balconies,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geoff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Really nice hotel with great staff. They do a really good buffet breakfast - cereals , cold meats , cheese , yogurts , boiled eggs as well as several different types of bread.Also tea , coffee and juices . Only a 10 minute walk from Centraal Station it is very centrally located - one street away from Damm Square .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great central location, but the single room was so small I could touch both walls with my arms outstretched ( I kid you not!).

Also, tired bathroom and decor.

Would I stay again? Only if I couldn't find something better.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank world_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thejam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed weekend of the 28th to the 30th October hotel cost was £105.00 per night for a single bed in an extremely small room one morning there wasn't any hot water so had to get a cold shower, opened wardrobe door on second day to find a dead rat I was totally shocked I was moved to a much larger room no apology nothing I am totally disgusted with management no refund nothing plus the new room was 4 times the size and at the same price totally unacceptable Please do not book this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#149 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citadel

Property: Hotel Citadel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorbrugwal 100, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citadel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Citadel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing