We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not clean”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #173 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
Lille
12
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Perfect location and good buffet the morning but our rooms were not cleaned and the staff didnt care so much about it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
There are newer reviews for Avenue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 774 of 1,533 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Dubai
21
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My and my family (me, my wife & our teenaged daughter) stayed at this hotel from March 26, 2012 March 31, 2012. The location of the hotel is great. It is a 10 minute walk to the Central Station and most tourist locations such as Damm Square, Madame Tussaud's etc. Though the hotel upgraded us to a quadrapule room at no additional cost, the twin rooms given to us were a little tight on space. WLAN at the hotel is pretty much non-existent as I was unable to access my official mail server over the VPN during my entire saty of 6 days (5 nights). The hotel has an open WLAN with signal strength changing from no strength to poor strength. It was extremely inconvenient for me to stay for 5 nights without being able to access my official mail server. It is not even possible to access the internet most of the time! It is a pity that, though this hotel is located conveniently, it has not attached much importance to the interent requirements of its guests. However, the beds are quite comfortable and our room was serviced every day. If internet connection is not important for you, it would be a nice place to stay. Breakfast is good too but the menu remains unchanged day after day. Hence, if you stay for a longer time you tend to get tired of eating the same stuff every single morning!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I went here with my partner, my first time to Amsterdam, the hotel was perfect, it was located in the center of the everything. The room was very small but clean.Our room faced onto the main street which i thought might be a problem because i am a light sleeper, but i had no issues at all. Would definitely staff here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaoirseMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here in March 2012. We had a quad room consisting of a large double (two singles pushed together) and two singles on a mezzanine floor. The room was large with UK satelite TV and good Wifi connection. There was AC and two radiators if needed. The room was clean but may be in need of a lick of paint. The bathroom was functional, loads of hot water!
The step ladder to the mezzanine could be dangerous for young children but great for older kids.
The reception staff are friendly. There is a luggage store. Only 5 mins from the station. Good central area for sighseeing.
Breakfast is super and includes Dutch pancakes and syrup, yummy. There is a drinks vending machine and tea only 50 cents.
This is a three star and good value given that breakfast is included. I booked through Would book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quad room without a mezzanine if you have young children or sleepwalkers in your party!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Did a bit of a last minute trip with my boyfriend and this hotel was a real find. We arrived too early to check in but they changed our room so we could dump our bags and relax. They also upgraded us for free so we had a bigger room with a lovely four poster bed.

The staff were very helpful and recommended a fabulous restaurant nearby. The bar area was also great and was modern but had a big fire which was quite atmospheric and we had a cocktail on the Saturday night and a hot chocolate on the Sunday before we left in the big comfy sofas.

We also enjoyed the breakfast that had a wide selection of buffet items.

I was really very impressed with the location, value for money and standard of this place - we are planning another trip to see Copanhagen in the summer and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#171 of 371 in Amsterdam
938 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#56 of 371 in Amsterdam
948 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#128 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,038 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#140 of 371 in Amsterdam
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: €116 - €354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing