We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambassade Hotel
Nearby Hotels
NH Amsterdam Zuid(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$301
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
US$112
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$303
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$449
US$422
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveller rating
1,166
173
23
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,166
173
23
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary barherengracht canalbooks signedperfect locationbeautiful hotelheated floorsquiet canalroom overlooking the canalnine streetsbeautiful roomsitting arealoved this hotelanne frank housetriple roomspent nightsmajor attractionsperfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My wife and I took a bit of a risk staying here due to the fact that Amsterdam was totally new for us and the easy/safe option would have been a large chain hotel, but boy are we glad we stayed at Ambassade! It is one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels we've every encountered. The staff was so kind and helpful also. I will recommend this to everyone who asks. We walked to everything so the location can't be beat also. The canal view rooms are incredibly quaint and simply stated, Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Canal View
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Reservations manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing the Ambassade Hotel, altough we realise that, when not familiar with Amsterdam, this was a bit of a risk. Therefore we are even more happy reading you were not disappointed.
Hope there will be a new visit to Amsterdam soon, so we can have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

with best regards from all at the Ambassade Hotel,
Eelco Douma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Ambassade Hotel March 30th-April 2nd. Our stay was absolutely perfect in every way. The staff went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. They offered to help with dinner reservations, tours, transportation-you name it they will try to help you! Our room had to be the best room in the hotel. Room 17 on the 4th floor. The room was spacious and included a desk, two chairs and coffee table, large closet and dresser and a very comfortable king sized bed. We also had a small balcony overlooking a canal. The bathroom had double sinks and a tub with shower. Breakfast each day was a beautiful buffet along with the ability to order eggs or pancakes. The staff in the breakfast room were also so sweet and kind! We loved every minute of our stay and would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Room 17 on the 4th floor has a balcony and a canal view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KristaM203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Reservations manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you so much for this wonderful recommendation, Madam. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we are also very happy reading you enjoyed both the assigned room and the service of our staff.
We hope there will be another opportunity for you to visit Amsterdam again, so we can welcome you back!

with best regards from the Ambassade Hotel,
Eelco Douma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Even in mi-February a gorgeous urn of flowers marks the discrete facade of the super charming Ambassade. That sign of good taste & style is carried thru the whole hotel experience. On two recent visits we arrived both times at odd hours. When we were too early to check in, the front desk staff suggested we might enjoy breakfast after our long flight and showed us up to the Brasserie. Soon after our room was ready and William ushered us up in the elevator to our Herrengracht canal-view room. Upon our return a week later we took an interior room and found from spacious to smaller the rooms are beautifully decorated with lovely fabrics & linens, great beds, big baths, lots of hot water & good lighting. In addition to chandeliers, table & floor lamps, there's plenty of natural light from high windows with darkening curtains.

The quality of the Ambassade goes deeper than just its antiques and ornamentation. Its character also derives from the exceptional staff. With direct reservations Joost helped me so much and Femke delightfully arranged our next visit & assisted us from her post at the front desk. Reception has a friendly, helpful, creative & knowledgeable staff. Frequently it was Martijn who solved our morning dilemmas, including arranging for a unique canal cruise we didn't feel we could set up ourselves. One day 3 front desk experts reached a solution for a mistake I'd made in our booking for the Ann Frank House. Also on duty there was Julian during the day & Kepppi in the evening. Richard graciously tends the first-editions library bar & when we had visitors arrive from France he took great care of them. Bravo to Sherman for his help when we arrived at 2 a.m. on his first week. Rik & Linde replied to our several email queries.

However, throughour both stays our days didn't even start until we came into the hands of the Brasserie breakfast crew with their smiling "goedmorgen!" and the buffet's delicious, wide vairety of offerings. Wonderful William was also on hand at breakfast to greet us along with fabulous, genteel Claudia's endless cafe au laits, and adorable Zoe who sweetly tried to teach me just one phrase in Dutch. We'd be remiss not to mention our romantic dinners at the Brasserie as well -- lovely food, presentation & service. Book a table ahead because people come from far & wide to dine there for those reasons.
We'd like to return to Amsterdam but it's The Ambassade that makes it seem like home.

Room Tip: Canal view worth the premium. One lane rd. between hotel & canal some vehicle sounds. Seeing trees, boats is super. B'fast extra excellent
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank judith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Reservations manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Madam,

Herewith we wish to thank you very much for your wonderful words. We feel very flattered with these compliments.
It is of course our job to make everyone as happy as possible when in Amsterdam, but it is most rewarding reading this from you personally, thank you so much.

Maybe needless to repeat, as we probaly informerd you upon check-out, but it would be wonderful seeing you back next time you travel to Amsterdam, hopefully soon!

With best regards from everyone at the Ambassade Hotel, from now mild and sunny Amsterdam,

Eelco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Absolutely perfect hotel for our stay. Charming hotel with noblesse of last ages in combination with contemporary comfort. Really professional and friendly stuff, trying to assist you in what ever you ask them.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marcel_MDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Reservations manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you very very much, Marcel.
It was great having you as our guest and we are very happy reading you enjoyed your visit.

with best regards from Amsterdam,
Eelco,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Lovely place and even more lovely staff. We had a beautiful canal view room with a wall of windows. If we asked for anything at the desk, it seemed to arrive in our room before we got there. The service is impeccable. We are walkers, so we were able to walk to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh in one direction, and all the way to the Central station in the other while stopping at sights along the way. Anything out of reach we reached by nearby tram, It is two blocks from the best craft beer bar in Amsterdam--cafe Gollem, so my husband could feed his interest in local beers. Many excellent restaurants are within easy reach.

Breakfasts are WONDERFUL, with fine local cheeses and smoked fish along with the usual fare.Lovely spot.

Room Tip: canal view a must. Request a room with multiple windows.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mira178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EelcoDouma, Reservations manager at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Mira,

We wish to thank you for your fantastic words, it is so good noticing you enjoyed your stay and the facilites in the nearby area such as Cafe Gollem. We can't wait to see you back so our staff can give you some more ideas on local interests.

with best regards from now rainy but mildly warm Amsterdam,

Eelco,
Ambassade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews