We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real star in Amsterdam”
Review of Bord'Eau

Bord'Eau
Reserve with
Bord'Eau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 4,312 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$59 - US$144
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Description: Two Michelin stars awarded Bord'Eau offers a culinary adventure directed by Executive Chef Richard van Oostenbrugge and Sous Chef Thomas Groot. Exceptional ingredients are blended to create symphonies of flavour, all complemented by the finest wines from around the globe. The intimacy of the salon-like setting, the classical simplicity of the decor and the grace and attentiveness of the service suggest high style and privilege overlooking the Amstel River.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant in a must for lunch. Reasonable menu still 5 star service. Great view of canals. On sunny day do not on window but ask for second tier , otherwise you burn like bug under magnifying glass. The somm was great , chose two great wines well under our budget of $200

Thank TfhPalisades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reserveringen R, F&B Coordinator at Bord'Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Restaurant Bord'Eau.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our Restaurant.

It was an absolute pleasure to have welcomed you for your gastronomic experience.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our beautiful dishes created by our Chef, Bas van Kranen and his team and the wines chosen by our Sommelier.


We hope to welcome you again at Restaurant Bord'Eau!
Maybe next time for dinner?


With warm regards,

Team Bord'Eau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Back to one of our old favourites for lunch, and the first time with the new team. The cooking is even better than before, if that is possible, the service is impeccable and correct, and the new sommelier knowledgable and generous. The 5-course set lunch was divine, with lovely amuses-bouche, mackerel, scallop, monkfish, venison and a rose for dessert (which was equal to the task of matching the old regime's famous apple). Matching wines in half portions were perfect. Coffee came with a trolley of a rocky seashore with various friandises attached including cockles, mussels, oysters and seaweed. Bord'Eau is again a real go-to destination in Amsterdam.

Thank Martinyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reserveringen R, F&B Coordinator at Bord'Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Martin York,

Warm regards from Restaurant Bord'Eau.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

It was an absolute pleasure to have welcomed you again.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the dishes and service from our new team.

We are already looking forward to your next visit!


With warm regards,

Team Bord'Eau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I reviewed this elegant dining property in December 2017 and they have since lost their popular chef, so I thought it worthwhile to see what the new man had to offer.

This is a grand room in a fine hotel looking out on a canal and priced accordingly. Diners should expect perfection. Thus, I was a bit disappointed when the sommelier poured me a $25 glass of champagne that was dead flat, clearly lacking any effervescence. He realized his mistake, opened a new bottle and apologized.

The amuse bouche were wonderful and the rest of the meal that followed was excellent. One dish with a small Monkfish filet was superb.

Clearly, they are trying to maintain the reputation of the past kitchen crew and I could see that there was effort being made to do so using fresh seasonal ingredients with a vegetarian emphasis. This included citrus and other vegetables that add something special to the dishes.

However, at this critical stage, it remains to be seen if the room will revert to its former grand position as one of the top fine restaurants in Amsterdam. The new chef is working some interesting, non-meat ingredients into the menu and these were, in my opinion, clever and tasteful, but need to be integrated so that while they stand out, they do not overpower.

Service was, as in the past, exceptional and I look forward to a return visit when things have settled down a bit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jjstives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reserveringen R, F&B Coordinator at Bord'Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr Stives,

Warm regards from Restaurant Bord'Eau!
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Bord'Eau.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your gastronomic experience with us.
Our team is very thankful for your compliments, it was our pleasure to have welcomed you again.

Restaurant Bord'Eau is already looking forward to your next visit.


With warm regards,

Team Bord'Eau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

I was worried when I heard that the chef and team had only been in place since January. But I should not have had any concerns. The young Executive Chef Bas van Kranen provides exciting, visually beautiful food that is very very tasty.

The serving staff were attentive and helpful - and are obviously gaining in confidence.

The restaurant was full so the word is out that this young man is a highly creative chef so do try and get a table soon otherwise you are going to have to join a queue soon.

Thank barbaralesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reserveringen R, F&B Coordinator at Bord'Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Ms Barbara Lesley,

Warm regards from Restaurant Bord'Eau.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our Restaurant.

It was an absolute pleasure to have welcomed you for your gastronomic experience.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our beautiful dishes created by our Chef, Bas van Kranen and his team.


We hope to welcome you again at Restaurant Bord'Eau!

With warm regards,

Team Bord'Eau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We enjoyed an excellent lunch at this stylish restaurant over looking the canal. The staff were attentive, but not overbearing and were sensitive to dietary requests. The table setting was well conceived, practical and aesthetically pleasing - not overly minimalist which seems to be the fine dining fashion at the moment. The food was exceptional, served with flair and imagination. Expensive, yes, but worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grogsblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reserveringen R, F&B Coordinator at Bord'Eau, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Restaurant Bord'Eau! .
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Restaurant Bord'Eau.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your gastronomic lunch experience with us. It was an absolute pleasure to have welcomed you. Thank you for your kind words.

At Bord'Eau we are already looking forward to welcome you again.


With warm regards,

Team Bord'Eau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bord'Eau also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bord'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing