We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #155 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Hi!
we just got back from a splendid 7 days stay at this place and have nothing but most positive impressions from it! we were kindly upgraded to a Superior room,which wasn't spacious but still functional, well organized, with enough cabinet space - which is always important to me, and at the same time very cosy and comfortable. speaking of comfort - that bed !!! no exaggeration, the softest, most wonderful bed and beddings, for which i'm still longing...
great location,indeed, in the heart of all the action, and close to all popular sight seeings.
the staff is attentive and friendly, and the house-keeping - immaculate.
thanks for everything and we will be back!

p.s. you may consider putting a shower curtain or glass in the bathroom to prevent the water from splashing all over the floor :)

Room Tip: go for Superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria_Cappilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

We were happy to learn that you liked our beds. A good sleep is very important when visiting the many things our city has to offer. We know that some bathrooms are getting something like a waterwonderland when taking a shower but it is difficult to solve that problem in some bathrooms.
We look forward to welcoming you and ope that we can make your stay a pleasant one again
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 509 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

we stayed here for 4 nights in the begining of December , staff were friendly and welcoming on arrival , room was adequate as we knew thew were refurbishing the rooms , but it is only for sleeping in . Close to the Dam Square and all ameneties

Room Tip: front as u can see the Dam Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

We thank you for your review and were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that the refurbishing of the first floor did not cause any nuissance.
Looking forward to welcoming you again

With best regards
René Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here on December 27, left to spend a night in another city, and then returned for December 29-31. Our first visit was in a "Comfort Room." The room was very small with a tight, narrow bathroom...just like we expected in an old building in the central part of Amsterdam. The location was ideal as we were able to walk with our bags from Centraal Station and could get anywhere we wanted to go on foot or by using the trams that stop just outside.

Between our two stays, the staff was very accommodating by allowing us to leave our two suitcases at the hotel overnight while we traveled to Belgium.

Upon our return to an expected "Superior Room," the staff informed us that they had upgraded us to a suite that had just been renovated. This room, on the first floor, included two balconies that overlooked the Damrak. This turned out to be an amazing place from which to take in that craziness that is Amsterdam on New Year's Eve.

Room Tip: Choose suite 101 or one of the other newly renovated suites that include balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmingle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed there in beginning of December 2011 for 4 nights. First of all, this hotel just sucks. It is extremly expensive for the quality and price they charge and the services they provide. It is an old hotel in an old and outdated building built in 1913. The weekend I was there for they claimed they were charging 260 Euros a night! (outragious. I believe there should be some sort of regulations on these kind of thuggery as they charge what they want).The first floor is under renovation. We were put up in a so called superior room ( a blatant joke) on the 2nd floor and for all the price we payed, I could hear all their construction jazz and jack hammers in our room. When asked to be put to a different room, all I heard was that they are sold out and the 2nd floor is the only floor they have superior rooms on. Their front desk has no etiquettes. Their night person named ' Prashant' should get a job somehere as a club gatekeeper or something like that as he lacks basic talking manners and is plane 'rude' and so is there other lady who works in the mornings (sofina). Their so called manager 'Virginia" is no better either. If you have any differences with them or if you tell them that you want a different room or comment on their services, they do not wanna talk to you. They would just ignore you. This lady Sofina or safina ( can't recall her name correctly) told me one morning that she can't talk to me about an issue with my room billing charges as she was very busy (though the front desk was empty and had no guests that she was tending to at that time).
Their rooms are really small and cramped (even their so called superior rooms). Their hallways are real narrow. I could hear the foot step noises from the guests above my floor and the coughing of the other guests next door very clearly. Their TVs are a shame (real small). Their bathrooms have absolutely no space. Everything is crodwed and stuffed in their little bathrooms. The toilet seat is in a corner with no space to sit and something hanging above your head. Their bathroom sinks are small and so is their bathtub which is shielded by a half size glass partition and the water just sparkles on the bathroom floor when you shower. The heating in rooms takes forever to start (15 min or so- they claim the hot air comes from a different pipe systems) and the temp would claim to go upto 28 degree celsius but you would be freezing all night in cold Amsterdam winter weather.
The hotels in the vicinity are much less inexpensive. The hotel Kransnaplosky's room rate right acroos the square was 100 Euros a night with all the basic services as this hotel provided. Hotel Doria was charging 80 Euros a night and another bigger hotel nearby (can't remember the name was charging only 120 Euros a night). What a rip off. I even saw 4 star hotels being advertirsed for the same weekend being charged at 120-130 Euros a night onnly. The only nice thing about this hotel is it's location.
If you don't want to be ripped off and want better value for your money, there are plenty of nicer and much inexpensive options in the vicinity. O, please don't believe on their website propaganda and all the praises they shower on themselves. Hopeless place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hello123Jk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Dear Sir
We have read youyr review and sincerely regret that we were far from meeting your expectations. You mention that a rate of € 260.-- is outragious but this was not at all the rate you paid. € 260.-- is a so called rack-rate and a maximum rate that we can charge but if you book through our website or any other booking site, you will learn that most of the time our rates our much more attractive.
You call our place a hotel that sucks and a hopeless place and you found our staff rude. That is your personal opinion but by reading other reviews you will see that most our guests just praise the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. We do not claim to be perfect but do our utmost to please our customers. Our staff was aware of the fact that you disliked our property from the beginning when you had to wait in the lobby in the morning because your room was not ready yet. The rate we charge is a rate for a total experience and not a rate for square meters. You claim that hotel Doria has a better rate but that is a small hotel of a lower category so that cannot be compared with ours. We sincerely apologize for the noise of the construction work during the renovation of our first floor which has been completed by now.
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Lovely hotel.... Fantastic location, just 5 minute walk from the station, and local to everything. Rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds are really comfortable, they are abit small, but big enough for a couple. Food is fantastic. The staff are the most helpfull and friendly i've ever come across, really nothing is too much trouble, n they are always smiling and polite. Had a fantastic and most relaxing break here. Brilliant!!! To the manager... Thank you for making our break so enjoyable, your staff are a credit to your lovely hotel, we will deffinately be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a smoking room on the 4th floor, nice and quiet n comfortable. No views, but that didnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff helped to make your stay an enjoyable one. I'm really proud of them . I hope that upon a next stay we still can make your stay a better one.
Looking forward to seeing you again
Yours sincerely
Rene Wildeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 372 in Amsterdam
674 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#92 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,900 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 /94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: €139 - €333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing