We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel in Central Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #89 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Venice
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel in Central Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Good hotel in central and convenient location. Rooms are modern, clean and spacious.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MS_1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,198
    1,265
    381
    123
    74
See reviews for
467
1,188
155
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

If you are a Marriott Rewards person, like me, you look for Marriott Properties. This hotel meets US standards and feels like an American hotel. Food is excellent and even the bar has 3 food menus to choose from. Close to the train station which makes for a short walk, however many cabs will refuse to drive you there as the distance is so short, which can be a pain with luggage. Walk is about 10 minutes. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravisJGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Location
Hotel is in the best location, over the road from the station and a 10 minute walk to all the attractions.

Check in was not until 3pm and i arrived around 10am to ask if they could store my luggage so i do not have to carry it around. They told us the room was ready and checked us in within 5 minutes

We stayed in a club floor room, the room was huge with a comfortable bed and very modern decor. The bathroom was a tad bit small but had a bath which was nice to relax in after a long day of walking around (In the snow!). I am really fussy when it comes to hotels and this is a 5 star hotel.

If you book a club floor room you have access to the club lounge which offers all beverages and snacks at certain times as well as breakfast. We also ordered room service which was quick and the food was so tasty

All the staff were friendly and the cleaners kept our room immaculate. If i ever go to amsterdam again i will not think twice about staying here.

Natasha & Michael
Liverpool

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and try for a club floor room if no suites are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed at the Renaissance Amsterdam on business. This is without a doubt the nicest hotel in which I've stayed in Europe (at least so far).

The hotel is beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful and go far behind the minimum requirements in helpfulness and friendliness.

The bed was comfortable and I was able to control the temperature in the room (I'm very hot-natured, so this is an issue in some hotels). The bathroom was small, but certainly not cramped. There was ample space for me to work at the desk.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of central station, so it's great for business trips. I suspect it would be nice for a vacation as well. The location is also close to a number of restaurants so you can walk for dinner (or hop on the train or tram if you want to go somewhere else).

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoungeOnTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The hotel is centrally located, quiet and very well kept. The staff was friendly, helpful and at times hilarious. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. Breakfast in the reataurant was VERY good and the breakfast in the lounge was good, too. Great coffee!
All the staff went above an beyond to make our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaRoams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#84 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Kattengat 1, 1012 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Central Station in the historic city centre of charming Amsterdam, the Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel is a top-tier choice of travelers. Regardless of reasoning for travel, guests will find comfort in our warm welcoming lobby, renovated guest accommodations featuring Renaissance Bedding, and a well crafted incentive of dining options within the hotel walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing