We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The poor service does not bring the big name of Crown Plaza!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #25 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ubud Bali
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The poor service does not bring the big name of Crown Plaza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have been staying in many of Int'l brand including Crown Plaza.

my last stay in Crown Plaza Amsterdam is the worst. The check in process take more than 45 minutes after our long journey from ASIA. We are shocked by the service provided by the unwell trainined receptionist. We are repeated guest and always stay in Crown Plaza every time I am in Amsterrdam.

the poor concierge provide lousy information, every time we ask some information always wrong and looks not very interest and not willing to serve us. we asked what time is the Soup Kitchen open? Small rest just in front of the hotel, the answer is 11:00 - 11 pm in fact they open at 8 AM. We asked what time is the holland casino open and easily the concierge responses that they open at 2 PM. In fact they open 12:00.

Last year I left Sony Camera Charge in my room and expect that they will keep it and notify myself either by email or fax but never happen.

I just remind Crown Plaza and as a wake up there is something missing here. your service is below our expectation! If you want to keep your brand exist! Please ca of the small details.

I wish to one back with a better service improvement!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamiaAdnyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for commenting on your recent trip to Amsterdam. We are very sorry to read that you experienced the check in to be long and find our reception staff perform below standard.

In your review you also mention our concierge services being poor because of incorrect times that where given to you. We always strive to have the correct information at hand. Unfortunately the information that we were provided with was incorrect, hence you were provided with not up to date opening times. We regret that the concierge at time has incorrectly informed you about the Holland Casino opening times.

We apologize that we did no longer have your adapter available. For security purposes we cannot contact our guests in regards to lost and found items. Furhtermore we only keep non-perishable lost items on premises for 3 months, after which they are discarded.

Dear guest please contact me at your earliest convenience in order to discuss your check-in experience further by emailing me at maurice.janssen@ihg.com

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,811
    1,065
    166
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,364
193
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stay here relatively often in Amsterdam on business and it's become a no brainer/safe bet. Close to Central Station. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms a decent size and very comfy. Love fhe pillows. Food in restauranf is great and staff efficienf and friendly (compared to service in many Dutch restaurants it's exceptional).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear valued regular Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read you stay with us more often and we can consider us your home away from home.

It is great to see that throughout your stays we are able to deliver efficient and friendly service. It is an honour you qualify us a "always reliable".

We look forward welcoming you on your next visit to Amsterdam and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Cowne Plaza-Amsterdam and had a good time. It is only approx 10 mins walk from Central Station and all the main attractions. All the staff were very friendly, the room was lovely and very clean with everything you would expect. The hotel restaurant was of a very high standard with tasty meals. We would have no problems recommending the hotel to others.

Room Tip: We paid extra for corner executive room, it was worth the money, with acess to executive lounge for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggyhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Food and Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests.

We are delighted to read you found the location to be convenient. We hope you enjoyed all the attractions Amsterdam has to offer such as Canal cruises, the Anne Frank house, Dam square and the Royal Palace.

It is such a pleasure to find, you enjoyed the meals in New Dorrius Restaurant and Bar find the items tasty and of very high standard.

We hope you enjoyed the sleep advantage kit that is provided in all our rooms and part of the Sleep Advantage Program. A program designed for Crowne Plaza Hotels to provide our guests with the best sleep possible. Luxurious bedding and quiet zones are also part of this program.

Thank you once again for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre hotel as your preferred Amsterdam hotel. We would love to welcome you back next year during your next Birthday Celebration, If you choose to come to Amsterdam on an earlier occasion we are obviously also here to be at your service.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer,
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I spent one night there after when I had an 18 hour layover in Amsterdam. The hotel was very nice. The room wasn't huge, but big enough. Nice large bed. Good shower. Good tv and minibar. The location is fantastic - 5 minute walk from Central station. Also, the staff was great; Very friendly and helpful. Also, the common facilities (lounge, lobby, business center, etc) are great. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I asked fornanquiet room, and the put me in the "quiet section", which faces a small court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sverkhovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are delighted to read you choose to come into Amsterdam on your layover.

The location of the Hotel just steps away from Central Station make it easy accessible even if one only has 18 hours in between flights. Being this close to Central Station, we are within walking distance of most of the main Amsterdam Touristic sights.

Thank you for commenting on the staff being helpful and very friendly. And you qualified our common areas as great as well.

We hope you have some more time on your next visit to Amsterdam. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Warm regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Staff were really nice especially Silvie at Reception. Felt very welcomed. Great location and would definitely recommend for a great stay

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your brief review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel so much and comment on the welcoming staff. We have shared your comment with the Reception staff and with Silvie who was pleased to read your findings.

The Hotel is indeed centrally located just steps away from Central Station but also, Damrak, the Dam and Royal Palace, Anne Frank house, Red light District, China town, 9 streets shopping area and the Jordaan. Many sights to visit!

Hope you did not see all of them so you will have to return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to visit the rest. We are looking forwards to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#71 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#86 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#133 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing