We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and great bar restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #72 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and great bar restaurant!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The rooms are comfortably big and clean. If you get lucky, like I was, you could get upgraded to a suite, which was good enough to host 4 persons.

Even if you do not choose to stay in the hotel, you should visit its bar & restaurant and try their dishes. Prices are adequate to the room and the quality of the hotel.

The personnel is friendly and helpful.

Wi-Fi for free.

Overall, if one can afford it, this is the choice he has to make!

Room Tip: Try to get the front facade rooms, to get an overview of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    1,205
    409
    144
    70
See reviews for
348
1,461
185
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012 and really enjoyed our stay. Biggest plus is the great location, close to public transport, Vondelpark, music venues, canals. The room was large and clean and comfortable. We slept well in the comfortable bed. The staff were helpful, though reception was quite busy at times, possibly could do with more staff. Amsterdam is expensive, and we found this place a bit dear, but reasonable in comparison to others. We'd stay here again if we needed a hotel in Amsterdam. As an aside, we also stayed with friends in Amsterdam, who said "wow, that's where the rock stars stay!"... Evidenced by the autograph book opened to the page of Amy Winehouse during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare_rohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We just returned from our vacation in Amsterdam and our stay in the American Hotel. The location of this beautiful building was perfect! We had a deluxe room with a canal view. The room was very clean and comfortable with everything you need. The bathroom was small but a full size shower and terry robes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The location is great. Still the overall experience is below a 4 stars expectation as the hotel needs some in depth renovation.

The check in at 15 o'clock is a bit unusual .The tram is a bit disturbing due to the noise

If you buy the trip with a promotion it worth.

Decent overall.

Room Tip: choose the room to the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 368 in Amsterdam
842 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#59 of 368 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing