We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
Ranked #52 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2007

This is an excellent hotel! First, the location is excellent! You are literally a stone's throw from the tram stop on Leidsplain. Also, the Leidsplain Street is awesome, with tons of stores, eateries, souvenir shops, and just about anything you could ask for. Lots of small bars, including sports bars, and nightlife that is within easy walking distance---literally 5 minutes! Now to the hotel---staff is very friendly and courteous. From the moment you walk in, you can tell it is an above-average hotel. My room was excellent---large, clean, big comfortable bed, separate shower and bathroom. After staying at a low-budget hotel in London for 4 nights, I had my best 2 nights of sleep at this hotel. If I return to Amsterdam, I will definitely stay at this hotel and I strongly recommend it to others! Also, the hotel booking was simple---I booked through the hotel's website...they used my credit card to simply hold the room, then I paid in full with the same card at check-out. They also accomodated me by storing my suitcase in a side room, since I arrived several hours earlier than check-in time. Strongly recommend!

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank slidhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

650 - 654 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2007

Just returned from 3 nights at the Dikker and Thijs and can highly recommend it. We got a great deal on expedia, around £170pp for 3 nights and return flights from London, including breakfast (which we never got up in time for!). The room was huge with a view of the canal and the beds were clean and comfortable. Bathroom was also big and clean with an excellent fully adjustable shower with excellent pressure - great if you are a tall person as you dont have to duck your head to get it wet. Rooms had tv, minibar, desk, but no safe. Location is good, its about 20 minute walk to the RLD but you can catch a tram right next to the hotel. Overall it is quite central. Highly recommend this hotel and I will returning next time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2007

Only just got around to writing this.... We have had two great stays in this hotel, one last year and one in 2005. The location is perfect! The staff are very efficient and our rooms were clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. I have stayed in many hotels in this part of Amsterdam and D&T is my favourite.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esstenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2007

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel and had a lovely stay there. It's in a great location with trams 1, 2 , and 5 stopping just outside the door (Prinsengracht stop). The Dutch staff were all professional and very friendly. I booked a double room (103) which was bright, modern, very spacious and very clean and comfortable. It was totally soundproofed. Although it was on the first floor with trams passing by I never heard any noise. It was air conditioned so window could not be opened. The bathroom was also large with a bathtub and powerful shower. The bed was lovely and I slept very well. My friend booked a single room (205) and this was also spacious and comfortable, and had a great view over canal. We were both delighted and will definitely be staying here in the future. We never made it to breakfast due to late nights but the dining room looked lovely. The room had tea making facilities and there are lovely shops nearby where you can buy croissants etc. They have a secure room where you can leave your suitcase if you have a late flight home. The area is beautiful and safe with lovely shops, restaurants, museums, cinemas all within minutes walking. The trams 1, 2 ,5, to/from Central Station only take 10 minutes and cost €1.60.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ricardfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2007

I stayed in this hotel in Jan 2007 for business.

This is a fairly basic hotel with some nice touches. I booked a superior double room which was very large. Nice big bathroom, with lovely shower. The room had 2 twin beds, desk, minibar, tea / coffee making facilities, satelitte TV and pay movies. I was impressed with the room….until I tried to sleep! The noise from the street comes mostly from the trams – trams in both directions have to use 1 tram line for a 20m stretch and the way they indicate to eachother who is coming through is to ring the bell. Fine – except when it’s every 5 minutes at midnight. There is also a lot of noise from the party goers that wander past at 3am. The hotel doesn’t seem to have done much to try and combat the noise – no double glazing.

The front desk girls are fine and very friendly – but please try not to get the manager. He’s terribly patronising, and when I tried to book for a night the week after he told me the best rate was twice what it was on expedia. I explained this… but to no avail. He told me to book through Expedia, not directly with him!

The wireless internet is 6 Euros per hour.

Trams go right past – a blessing and a curse. You’re right in the heart of lovely Amsterdam with Centraal Station only a 10 min tram ride away.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Voyager2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#67 of 376 in Amsterdam
289 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#44 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,122 reviews
American Hotel Amsterdam
#76 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,392 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#21 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,104 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: €110 - €338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing