We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,370)
Filter reviews
4,370 results
Traveller rating
3,079
1,019
183
49
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,079
1,019
183
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews singel canal beautiful hotel canal view room dam square complimentary coffee within walking distance jacuzzi bath deluxe room nine streets perfect location sitting area anne frank house flower market loved this hotel beautiful room reception area major attractions
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 4,370 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Have just returned from a three night trip. There are many positives to the hotel. The hotel is beautifully appointed ,furnishings opulent and a bit over the top . Lovely library area. Free tea/coffee/hot chocolate and delicious snacks available throughout the day. Great location too !!

Bar area where breakfast is taken and evening bar menu (menu is limited) really nice to spend time there food was good .

We had a canal view room beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. There was a lot of street noise which did affect the quality of sleep and noise from floors above.
The shower leaked and flooded the floor as the screen did not seal against the bath. We rang reception and they did send someone immediately to mop the floor up and promised that this would be reported and dealt with. The next day when we returned in the afternoon the fault had not been fixed. At the same time we tried to get money out of the safe to find that we could not open it to access passports and money.

Again someone attended immediately they spent an hour trying to open the safe, we were extremely worried that we leaving the next day . We asked if this could be resolved by the technician on this day but were told we had to wait until the day of leaving which was extremely worrying. We pointed out at the same time that the shower had not been resolved and found out that the message had not be forwarded on from the previous night . Very disappointing. The floor was then covered with towels so that we could exit the shower safely . This is not acceptable when you are paying premium prices !!

We had to get up early on the day of departure so that the safe could be broken into to retrieve our passports. We understand things can go wrong but it’s the way these are rectified that matter. Attention to detail and an appropriate level of customer service was lacking.

We still enjoyed our stay overall but it could have been so much better . It is a Hotel that when we arrived would have given a 5 star rating to, however ,this cannot be justified given the problems encountered and how they were dealt with.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank dcw49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

This is one of the loveliest hotels in every way. The decor is stunningly beautiful, the staff are friendly and fantastic, the manner in which the hotel looks after its customers is perfect. The hotel is in a great location whether you want to party or chill - Singel on one side and Spuistraat on the other. We booked the most special room in the house, which was a joy to wake up to every morning! It was our third stay and we can't wait to go back:)

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jellybeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Beautiful hotel with friendly staffs. The hotel smells like heaven. My family and I stayed in 2 rooms for 4 nights. ( a king bedroom and a 3 double bedroom ) the room decorations are fantastic. I love the water pressure in the shower. Everything is extremely good about this hotel. This hotel is not 5 stars it is 10 stars. The lobby decoration is super elegant. There are amazingly delicious pastries and chocolate in the lobby and 24hr coffee and hot chocolate machine and tea leafs dispenser ( herbal, green, black).The location is good. Walking distance to most monuments in Amsterdam. The restaurant serves excellent food. We enjoyed the dinner and breakfast at the hotel. My only concern was that our king room suite A/C did not work properly. But since the weather was not hot during our stay, it did not bother me much. I wish I had bough the scent that they spray throughout the hotel. The staffs are very polite and kind. Thank you Amal, Chanchal, Laurie, Skip and Teddy for kindness.

Room tip: Their Suites are better deal for the money.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadanSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay in Amsterdam. It was our first visit and we thoroughly enjoyed it, the Dutch people are so friendly. The hotel was beautiful, furnishings of a very high quality as were the toiletries in the bathroom. There are two lifts which was very good for a hotel of this age and a porter for taking luggage to your room. We had room 204 which was lovely with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good with ample choice including some very nice scrambled eggs. We enjoyed some bar food on two nights which was very tasty. The staff were very courteous and helpful one could not fault them. Overall the hotel is beautiful, clean and very well looked after. We would go back.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank noreen_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

awesome boutique style hotel within easy walking distance to Centrum. I highly recommend it. Staff are very attentive & rooms well appointed. It has a wonderful bar oozing character and the restaurant is cozy.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews